Religion
- Religion Past and Present: Encyclopedia of Theology and Religion byCall Number: 203 R279:EISBN: 9789004146662Publication Date: 2007-201313 vols. English version of the 4th edition of Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG).
- Encyclopedia of Sciences and Religions byCall Number: 291.175 ONLINEPublication Date: 2013Online version of the 4 volume original. Detailed, signed entries that include bibliographies. Bibliographies not annotated.
Bible
- Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIdentifies journal articles, books, and electronic resources on all aspects of Old Testament studies. Indexes publications from 1978-present.
- New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIdentifies journal articles, books, and electronic resources on all aspects of New Testament studies. Indexes publications from 1985-present.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible byCall Number: 220 ONLINEPublication Date: 2011Online version of the 2 volume original. First in Oxford University Press's series Oxford Encyclopedias of the Bible. Signed, scholarly entries with bibliographies. Bibliographies not annotated. Illustrated. Covers both canonical and non-canonical books of the Bible. Each entry divided into the following sections: 1. Name of the book and its meanings in English, Hebrew, and Greek; 2. Canonical Status and Relation to Canonical Books; 3. Authorship, Both Traditional and Modern, Scholarly Attributions; 4. Date of Composition and Historical Context; 5. Literary History; 6. Structure and Contents; 7. Interpretation; and 8. Reception History.
Christianity
- The Encyclopedia of Christianity byCall Number: 230.003 En19ISBN: 0802824137Publication Date: 1999-20055 vols.
- The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church byCall Number: 260 ONLINEPublication Date: 20053rd ed. revised. Online version of the 1 volume original. Brief, unsigned entries with bibliographies. Bibliographies not annotated.
- New Catholic Encyclopedia byCall Number: 282 ONLINEPublication Date: 20022nd ed. Online version of the 15 volume original, with supplements. Substantive, signed entries with bibliographies and some illustrations. Bibliographies not annotated.
- Encyclopedia of Protestantism byCall Number: Q. 280.403 En192ISBN: 0415924723Publication Date: 20044 vols.
- Vetus Latina This link opens in a new windowCatalog of the patristic records of the Vetus Latina Institut in Beuron.
- Christian Periodical Index byCall Number: 016.2 C46ISBN: 0069-3871Publication Date: 1956-2003Library has 1956-2003. Lists articles, organized by subject, from evangelical and fundamentalist periodicals (American).
- Jesuit Historiography OnlineOver 70 detailed, historiographic essays on global Jesuit history.
- Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window10th century through the 16th century. Identifies Christian artwork created in western Europe and Byzantium, with some coverage of Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East.
Judaism
- Encyclopaedia Judaica byCall Number: 296 ONLINEPublication Date: 20062nd ed. Online version of the 22 volume original. Signed entries, with bibliographies, on almost all aspects of Jewish Studies. Bibliographies not annotated. "This award-winning second edition, an update to the 1972 Encyclopaedia Judaica, has already attained a secure place in the reference pantheon [...] While the first edition, published in Jerusalem, was criticized by a few scholars for an "Israel-centric" scholarly bias, the second edition was overseen by a joint editorial board composed of both Israeli and Diaspora scholars, who tried to provide more balanced coverage" (from the Choice review by D. Altschiller). However, the Academic Guide to Jewish History at the University of Toronto notes that the first 1972 edition contains more illustrations and may contain information not present in the updated edition.
- The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion byCall Number: 296 ONLINEPublication Date: 20112nd ed. Online version of the 1 volume print original. Brief, signed entries with bibliographies. Bibliographies not annotated.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new windowIdentifies English-language articles from journals and magazines on Jewish religion and Jewish life. Indexes publications from 1988-present. Print edition extends coverage back to 1963.
- RAMBI / Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesIdentifies Hebrew, Yiddish, and European language articles on all aspects of Jewish studies. Indexes publications from 1966-present.
- Oxford Bibliography of Jewish StudiesSelected, annotated bibliographies, arranged by broad topic. Each section includes an introductory essay written by a scholar. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.
- Guide to Jewish Studies at the University of Illinois LibraryIn depth guide to research resources for Jewish Studies at the University of Illinois Library.
Islam
- The Encyclopaedia of Islam (EI3) byCall Number: 297 ONLINEPublication Date: 2007-3rd ed. Online version of the print original, which is still being published. Signed, scholarly articles with bibliographies. The 3rd edition is an entirely new work, with new articles reflecting current scholarship. The new scope includes coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
- The Encyclopaedia of Islam (EI2) byCall Number: 297 ONLINEPublication Date: 1954-20022nd ed. Online version of the 13 volume original. Signed, scholarly articles with bibliographies. Some bibliographic entries annotated. Many entries incorporate bibliographic essays into the body of the article.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World by Call Number: Q. 909.097671003 .Ox2 2009ISBN: 9780195305135Publication Date: 2009-04-03This unique reference is a comprehensive encyclopedia dedicated to the institutions, religion, politics, and culture in Muslim societies throughout the world. Placing particular emphasis on the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World contains over 750 articles in four volumes on Muslims in the Arab heartland as well as South and Southeast Asia, Europe, and the Americas. The Encyclopedia offers extensive comparative and systematic analyses of Islamic beliefs, institutions, movements, practices, and peoples on an international scale. The alphabetically arranged articles range from brief 500-word essays to major interpretive and synthetic treatment of topics such as the Islamic state, pilgrimage, law, marriage, and foreign relations. Related entries cover areas of general interest such as social and political movements, women, Muslim minorities, human rights, Islam in the West, and interreligious affairs. And prominent figures that had a lasting impact on Islam are explored including Muhammad, Aga Khan, Malcolm X, Muhammad Iqbal, 'Ali Shari 'ati, Ayatollah Khomeini, and Hasan al-Turabi.
Online and physical copies available
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowIdentifies journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference proceedings in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Indexes publications from 1906-present.
- Guide to Islamic Studies at the University of Illinois LibraryIn depth guide to research resources for the study of Islam at the University of Illinois Library.
Buddhism
- The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism byCall Number: 294.382 ONLINEPublication Date: 2013Brief entries. No bibliographies. Includes an outline of Asian historical periods, a chronology, and entry cross references by Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Pali, Sanskrit, and Tibetan language renderings.
- Encyclopedia of Buddhism byCall Number: 294.382 ONLINEPublication Date: 2005Online version of the 2 volume original. Signed entries with bibliographies. Bibliographies not annotated.
- Brill's Encyclopedia of Buddhism byCall Number: 294.38203 B769ISBN: 9789004284692Publication Date: 2015-
Hinduism
- Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism byCall Number: 294.503 ONLINEISBN: 9789004180475Publication Date: 2009-2015Online version of the 6 volume original. Substantive, signed entries with extensive bibliographies.