This book is a valuable guide to ethical issues and the language, concepts, and positions central to ethical theorizing. Entries identify and explain complex issues in normative ethics, metaethics, and moral psychology without being technical.

This volume contains 581 entries on topics ranging from Peter Abelard to 'ought implies can.' About 300 academic contributors, mostly American, write the entries, which feature suggestions for related entries and a bibliography. Entry-writers do not always seek objectivity; instead, they often use their entry to make an argument, so be wary of using only this encyclopedia. Two extensive indexes, one of subjects and one of cited authors, end the volume.

Contains articles on concepts such as duty, fascism, predestination, and wisdom; movements such as women's suffrage, the Harlem Renaissance, and the Ghost Dance; people such as Michel Foucault, Mao Zedong, and Paul Ehrlich; and other topics such as cyberspace, the Holocaust, and the Monroe Doctrine. Suitable for high school or undergraduate students or general readers. Well cross-referenced.

Gensler and Spurgin (philosophy, John Carroll U.) offer a dictionary for specialists and students on theories, issues, concepts, historical periods and figures, non-Western approaches, and related disciplines in ethics. A sampling of entries: abortion, capital punishment, stem-cell research, terrorism, utilitarianism, social contract, bioethics, Confucius, Aristotle, Mary Wollstonecraft, racism, feminist ethics, and privacy.

2nd ed.

When is it okay to lie? What does it mean to have a "strong moral fiber?" What forces shape a society's standards of right and wrong? Ranging from philosophical and theoretical ethics to applied ethics.

Academic food ethics incorporates work from philosophy but also anthropology, economics, the environmental sciences and other natural sciences, geography, law, and sociology. Scholars from these fields have been producing work for decades on the food system, and on ethical, social, and policyissues connected to the food system. Yet in the last several years, there has been a notable increase in philosophical work on these issues - work that draws on multiple literatures within practical ethics, normative ethics and political philosophy. This handbook provides a sample of thatphilosophical work across multiple areas of food ethics: conventional agriculture and alternatives to it; animals; consumption; food justice; food politics; food workers; and, food and identity.

A comprehensive introduction to the vocabulary and definitions of the terms involved in the health care and bioethics debate.

4th ed. (formerly titled Encyclopedia of Bioethics). Online version of the 6 vol. original.

This single-volume reference provides information, answers, and context for the often difficult questions arising from today's perception of sex and reproduction. Among the topics covered are abortion, AIDS, lifestyles, public health, fertility, genetics, sexual ethics, and prostitution.

The ethical assessment of new technologies raises two principal concerns: the need to develop effective policies and legislation, and the reconsideration of the ethical frameworks in which these policies and laws are developed. The importance of rapid, accurate examinations of tensions between Philosophy and Law and the relationship between philosophical principles and empirical data has never been greater. The Concise Encyclopedia of Ethics of New Technologies includes 23 articles previously published in the highly-acclaimed Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics, nine updated articles, and five new articles, commissioned especially for this volume.

Describes the varied ethical controversies in science and technology. Laws. precedent-setting cases, regulations, agencies, organizations, concepts, people, and important events

Signed entries. Each entry includes suggestions for further reading.

Online version of the 3 volume original from Oxford University Press. Detailed, signed entries. Bibliographies include both primary and secondary sources. Bibliographies not annotated

3rd ed. Contains fifty-four chapters written by leading international scholars covering all aspects of aesthetics. The volume is structured in four parts: History, Aesthetic Theory, Issues and Challenges, and Individual Arts.It opens with an historical overview of aesthetics including entries on Plato, Aristotle, Kant, Nietzsche, Heidegger, Sibley and Derrida. The second part covers the central concepts and theories needed for a comprehensive understanding of aesthetics including the definitions of art, taste, value of art, beauty, imagination, fiction, narrative, metaphor and pictorial representation. Part three is devoted to the topics that have attracted much contemporary interest in aesthetics including art and ethics, environmental aesthetics and feminist aesthetics. The final part addresses the individual arts of music, photography, film, literature, theatre, dance, architecture and sculpture.

This comprehensive anthology provides a collection of classic and contemporary readings in continental aesthetics. Spanning Romanticism through Modernism to Postmodernism, the volume includes landmark texts that have sparked renewed interest in aesthetics, including works by Schiller, Kant, Nietzsche, Hegel, Heidegger, Sartre, Lukacs, Habermas, Foucault, Kristeva, and Derrida.

Mr. Danto argues that recent developments in the artworld, in particular the production of works of art that cannot be told from ordinary things, make urgent the need for a new theory of art and make plain the factors such a theory can and cannot involve. In the course of constructing such a theory, he seeks to demonstrate the relationship between philosophy and art, as well as the connections that hold between art and social institutions and art history.