Skip to Main Content
About
Employee Directory
Departmental Directory
Administration
Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, & Accessibility
Preservation Services
Faculty & Staff Achievements
Library Spaces
Library Building Project
Library Employment
Events
News
Make a Gift
MORE
Libraries & Hours
Find Materials
Collections Overview
Sensitive Content Statement
Online Reference Collection
Easy Search
Library Catalog
Course Reserves
Library Guides
Archives & Manuscript Materials
Digital Library Collections
Article Locator
IDEALS
Databases (A-Z)
Online Journals
MORE
Borrow Materials
Setup & Use My Account
Library Cards
Borrowing Privileges
Returns & Recalls
Fines & Fees
Interlibrary Loan
Document Delivery
MORE
Research Services
Ask a Librarian
Subject Specialists
Savvy Researcher Workshops
Research Data Service
Distance Learners & Instructors
Other Campus Libraries
MORE
Technologies
Assistive Technologies
Connecting to Library Resources
Loanable Technology
Printing
Publicly Accessible Computers
Scanning and Copying
Virtual & Augmented Reality
MORE
University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Site Navigation Menu
University Library
LibGuides
Pollution Prevention 101
Food Manufacturing
Search this Guide
Pollution Prevention 101: Food Manufacturing
Resources for pollution prevention (P2) technical assistance providers. Geared particularly toward those new to the P2 field.
Home
Essential Information
Toggle Dropdown
Getting Started with P2
Funding and Examples of Successful P2 Grant Projects
EPA Sector Notebooks
Training Videos and Webinars
Toggle Dropdown
P2 101 Training from NPPR
Green Chemistry 101 Training
Technology Diffusion and P2
Case Studies
Software Tools & Databases
Sector/Subject Specific
Toggle Dropdown
Where to Start
Auto Salvage
Energy
EPA Sector Notebooks
Food Manufacturing
Green Building
Green Business
This link opens in a new window
Green Chemistry, Solvent Substitution, and Alternatives and Risk Assessment Tools
Lean Manufacturing, EMS, and Sustainability
Painting & Coating Operations
Lithographic Printing
This link opens in a new window
Flexographic Printing
This link opens in a new window
P2/Environmental Cost Accounting
Purchasing
Sustainable Product Design
This link opens in a new window
Water Efficiency
Compliance
News & Current Awareness
Statistics & Data Sets
Patents, Methods, & Standards
U.S. EPA Region 5 Project Summaries and Fact Sheets
Communicating Science
This link opens in a new window
Tools for TAPs
This link opens in a new window
Table of contents
This page contains the following:
News
P2 Books and Manuals
Case Studies
Regulations, Compliance, and Standards
Training
News
Feed courtesy of
Environmental News Bits
.
Loading ...
P2 Books and Manuals
Online Publications
Ammonia, Hydrochloric Acid, Hydrogen Sulfide, N-hexane, Nitric Compounds, and Sulfuric Acid in the Food Processing Industry
Aqueous Ozone Sanitation Technology
Assessment of Alternatives to Cleaners and Sanitizers for the Brewing Industry
Basic Elements of Equipment Cleaning and Sanitizing in Food Processing and Handling Operations
Best Available Techniques (BAT) Reference Document for the Food, Drink and Milk Industries
Brewery Operations Best Management Practices (BMPs)
Clean Technologies in U.S. Industries: Focus on Food Processing
Context-Based Decision Guide for Water Use and Recyclling
The Dating Game: How Confusing Food Date Labels Lead to Food Waste in America
ENERGY STAR Focus on Energy Efficiency in Food Processing
The Environmental Impact of Pollution Prevention, Sustainable Energy Generation, and Other Sustainable Development Strategies Implemented by the Food Manufacturing Sector
Environmental Self-Assessment for the Food Processing Industry
Feeding Ourselves Thirsty: Tracking Food Company Progress Toward a Water-Smart Future
Food & Nature Digest: Accelerating the Green Recovery
Food Industry Pollution Prevention and Lean Manufacturing
Food Loss and Waste: A Quick Guide to Understanding the FLW Standard
Food Loss and Waste Accounting and Reporting Standard
Food Manufacturing Pollution Prevention Techniques
Food Processing: Sustainability Resource Center
Food Processing Residual Management Manual
FOG National Reference Resource Guide
Grape Winery Waste as Feedstock for Bioconversions: Applying the Biorefinery Concept
Leftovers for Livestock: A Legal Guide to Using Excess Food as Animal Feed
Materiality in corporate reporting: A White Paper focusing on the food and agriculture sector
Methane, Cows, and Climate Change: California Dairy’s Path to Climate Neutrality
Mitigate the expense of wastewater by putting it to work
Multimedia Environmental Compliance Guide for Food Processors
Northwest Food Processors Association Energy Savings Model Review
An Overview of the Utilisation of Brewery By-Products as Generated by British Craft Breweries
Pollution Prevention for Food Processors
Pollution Prevention Pays in Food Processing; Liquid Assets for Your Dairy Plant
Reducing Risk: Landscape Approaches to Sustainable Sourcing
Reducing water usage in food and beverage processing
Safer sanitation in food and beverage manufacturing and processing
SAVE FOOD: Global Initiative on Food Loss and Waste Reduction
Selection of Sustainable Food Waste Valorisation Routes: A Case Study with Barley Field Residue
ShareGreen
Spotlight on U.S. EPA Region 5's Food Manufacturing and Processing Industry
Sustainability: A Guide for Food Processors
Sustainability in the Distilled Spirits Industry
Sustainable Brewing Workshop, Bellingham – A Recap
Topic Hub: Craft Brewing
U.S. Food System Factsheet
Waste and Opportunity 2015: Environmental Progress and Challenges in Food, Beverage, and Consumer Goods Packaging
Books
The 10 Principles of Food Industry Sustainability
by
Cheryl J. Baldwin
ISBN: 9781118447734
Publication Date: 2015-03-30
Alternatives to Conventional Food Processing
by
Andrew Proctor (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849730372
Publication Date: 2010-12-16
Energy Efficiency and Management in Food Processing Facilities
by
Lijun Wang
ISBN: 1420063383
Publication Date: 2008-12-04
Environmental Assessment and Management in the Food Industry
by
U. Sonesson (Editor); J. Berlin (Editor); F. Ziegler (Editor)
ISBN: 1845695526
Publication Date: 2010-09-30
Environmentally Responsible Food Processing
by
K. Niranjan (Editor); Martin R. Okos (Editor); Marshall Renkowitz (Editor)
ISBN: 0816906513
Publication Date: 1994-07-01
Environmentally sound technologies in the food industry
Publication Date: 2000
Environmental management in the Dutch food and beverage Industry
by
Derk-Jan Haverkamp
ISBN: 9789086860500
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Food and Environment
by
V. Popov (Editor); C. A. Brebbia (Editor)
ISBN: 9781845645557
Publication Date: 2011-05-01
Food Industry and the Environment in the European Union
by
Janet M. Dalzell
ISBN: 0834217198
Publication Date: 1999-11-30
Green Technologies in Food Production and Processing
by
Joyce I. Boye (Editor); Yves Arcand (Editor)
ISBN: 9781461415879
Publication Date: 2012-01-13
Green Technologies in Food Production and Processing
by
Joyce I. Boye (Editor); Yves Arcand (Editor)
ISBN: 9781461415879
Publication Date: 2012-01-13
Handbook of Sustainability for the Food Sciences
by
Rubén O. Morawicki
ISBN: 9780813817354
Publication Date: 2012-03-20
Handbook of Sustainability for the Food Sciences
by
Rubén O. Morawicki
ISBN: 9780813817354
Publication Date: 2012-03-20
Handbook of Water and Energy Management in Food Processing
by
R. Smith (Editor); J. Klemes (Editor); J. K. Kim (Editor)
ISBN: 1420077953
Publication Date: 2008-07-11
The Routledge Handbook of Sustainable Food, Beverages and Gastronomy
by
Philip Sloan (Editor); Willy Legrand (Editor); Clare Hindley (Editor)
ISBN: 0415702550
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Sustainability in the Food Industry
by
Cheryl J. Baldwin (Editor); Cheryl Baldwin
ISBN: 9780813808468
Publication Date: 2009-03-10
Sustainable Food Processing
by
Tomas Norton (Editor); Brijesh Tiwari; Nick Holden
ISBN: 9781118634301
Publication Date: 2013-10-21
Sustainable Food Production
by
Paul Christou (Editor); Roxana Savin (Editor); Barry Costa-Pierce (Editor); Ignacy Misztal (Editor); Bruce Whitelaw (Editor)
ISBN: 9781461457978
Publication Date: 2014-07-08
Training
Brewing Up Energy Savings
New Food Magazine webinars
NPPR Food & Beverage Manufacturing workgroup
Pollution Prevention Opportunities for Ammonia Emissions in the Food and Beverage Sector
Sustainable Food Trade Association webinars
U.S. EPA Big Gulp: Lessons Learned on Providing P2 Tech Assistance to Food and Beverage Manufacturers
Regulations, Compliance, and Standards
40 CFR Parts 1-1899
Food Guidance and Regulations (FDA)
Food Law > Processing Sector
Food Processing Sector (NAICS 311)
Food Processing Standards (ASTM)
Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA)
GreenChill Partnership
Multimedia Environmental Compliance Guide for Food Processors
Rules and Standards for Food Processing
Case Studies
Alternative Cleaner Trial: Island Dog Brewery in South Portland, Maine
Annie’s Inc.: LCA reveals carbon impacts of representative products
Ben & Jerry’s: Carbon reduction goal
CSM Bakery Products, Eagan MN
Empowering Sustainability Programs at Stoneyfield
Engaging Organic Valley’s supply chain to improve environmental performance
Eye on sustainability
Fulton Beer, Minneapolis, MN
Gedney Foods, Chaska, MN
Kerry Ingredients, Rochester, MN
Lorentz Meats, Cannon Falls. MN
Northern Star/Michael Foods, Chaska, MN
NYSP2I Food Manufacturing Case Studies
Phillips Distilling Company, Princeton, MN
Pollution Prevention and Wastewater Pretreatment Successes at VT and NH Breweries
Sanitation Chemical Reduction
The Saving Gelato Project: Walmart Foundation Food Loss + Waste Implementation Program
Seneca Foods, Rochester, MN
Stonyfield Farm: Safe Additives Guide safeguards plastic packaging
ST Specialty Foods, Brooklyn Park, MN
<<
Previous:
EPA Sector Notebooks
Next:
Green Building >>
