Encyclopedias
The purpose of encyclopedias to summarize the state of knowledge in a field of inquiry. (Enycyclopedias synthesize the secondary sources on a topic.) Use encyclopedias to find background information on your topic, and to familiarize yourself with what is already known on the topic. A good encyclopedia can be a valuable starting point for your research, and often contains recommendations for additional reading.
Three online reference collections that students often find useful are:
- Gale EbooksA very extensive collection of useful reference works published by Gale and affiliated publishers, including general and subject-specific encyclopedias. Gale is a major publisher of encyclopedias and other reference sources.
- Oxford Reference150 core reference works from Oxford University Press, mostly encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Credo ReferenceLarge collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries. It includes some important reference works in History, Philosophy, Religious Studies, and related fields. Works tend to feature shorter entries, with exceptions.
Below is a list of encyclopedias relevant to research for this course:
- Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History byCall Number: 306.76 ONLINEISBN: 9780684325675Publication Date: 2019Online version of the 3 volume original. Signed entries with extensive bibliographies. Includes subject and geographic indexes.
- Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America byCall Number: 973 | 306.766 ONLINEISBN: 0684312611Publication Date: 2003Online version of the 3 volume original. Signed entries with bibliographies. Bibliographies not annotated. Includes a chronology, a "Systematic Outline of Contents", and a detailed index.
- Completely Queer: The Gay and Lesbian Encyclopedia byCall Number: 305.90664 H678cISBN: 0805036296Publication Date: 1998
- Sex from Plato to Paglia: A Philosophical Encyclopedia byCall Number: 306.703 Se913ISBN: 031332686XPublication Date: 2005
- Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures byCall Number: HQ75.13 .E539 2000ISBN: 0815333544Publication Date: 2000
- Historical Dictionaries of Religions, Philosophies, and Movements Series byCall Number: ONLINEISBN: 0810874687Publication Date: 2013
- The Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide byCall Number: HQ76 .G724 2010ISBN: 9780313342318Publication Date: 20093 vols.
- Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture byCall Number: HQ75.13 .P76 2008ISBN: 9780313335990Publication Date: 2007
- Homosexuality and Religion: An Encyclopedia byCall Number: 200.8664 H754ISBN: 9780313330889Publication Date: 2006
- New Catholic Encyclopedia byCall Number: 282 ONLINEPublication Date: 20022nd ed. Online version of the 15 volume original, with supplements. Substantive, signed entries with bibliographies and some illustrations. Bibliographies not annotated.
- The Queer Encyclopedia of Music, Dance, and Musical Theater byCall Number: Q. 791.0866403 C79ISBN: 1573441988Publication Date: 2004
- Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encylopedia byCall Number: 306.76603 G25ISBN: 9780815318804Publication Date: 1999
- Homosexuality and Science: A Guide to the Debates byCall Number: QP81.6 .R656 2002ISBN: 9781849723718Publication Date: 2009Signed articles with extensive bibliographies. Includes chronology, glossary, and a selection of primary sources.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History byCall Number: 973 | 306 ONLINEISBN: 0199743363Publication Date: 2012Online version of 2 volume original. Signed entries with bibliographies. Some bibliographies annotated. Includes a "Topical Outline of Entries".
- Encyclopedia of AIDS: A Social, Political, Cultural, and Scientific Record of the HIV Epidemic byCall Number: 362.1969792 En192001ISBN: 0140514864Publication Date: 2001
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States byCall Number: 810.9 En1925ISBN: 9780313348594Publication Date: 20092 vols.
- Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures byCall Number: 306.703 ONLINEISBN: 184972508XPublication Date: 2010Lengthy, signed entries with extensive bibliographies.
- Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender byCall Number: 306.703 ONLINEISBN: 9780028661155Publication Date: 2007Online version of the 4 vol. original.
- Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture byCall Number: 306.766 R765ISBN: 0415306515Publication Date: 2006
Bibliographies and Catalogs
A bibliography is, in its most literal sense, a list of books. Many students are familiar with bibliographies from writing research papers, where a list of works cited is sometimes called a bibliography. In libraries, bibliographies serve an additional, important function in helping patrons identify books, journal articles, and other library resources. These bibliographies are usually centered on sources about a particular subject, and are often book-length themselves. Some bibliographies run to several volumes. For more information on bibliographies, please see our guide to Bibliography and Historical Research:
A catalog is similar to a bibliography with the difference being that a catalog lists books and other resources available for use or purchase at a specific place, or from a specific person or organization. Examples are library catalogs, catalogs of private collections, and booksellers' catalogs.
- The Gay and Lesbian Movement: References and Resources byCall Number: 305.90664 R437ISBN: 9780816173730Publication Date: 1996
- An Annotated Bibliography of Homosexuality byCall Number: 016.3014243 AN78ISBN: 0824099591Publication Date: 1976Withdrawn.
- The Homosexual and Society: An Annotated Bibliography byCall Number: 016.306766 R437HISBN: 0313253579Publication Date: 1990
- Homosexuality: An Annotated Bibliography byCall Number: 016.3014243 W43HISBN: 0060145412Publication Date: 1972From the Kinsey Institute, and therefore stresses medical/psychiatric perspectives.
- Homosexuality and the Judeo-Christian Tradition: An Annotated Bibliography byCall Number: 016.26183576 H784ISBN: 9780810814127Publication Date: 1981
- Homosexuality: A Research Guide byCall Number: 016.306766 D993HISBN: 0824086929Publication Date: 1987
- Reader's Guide to Lesbian and Gay Studies byCall Number: Q. 305.90664 R227ISBN: 1579581420Publication Date: 2000
- Gay and Lesbian Materials in the Amherst College Library: A Bibliography byCall Number: 016.306766 D451GPublication Date: 1994Guides like these were frequently created by libraries to compensate for inadequate subject access to LGBTQ library materials in traditional library catalogs. These guides are not, for the most part, guides to special collections, but to published sources that you could also likely find at University of Illinois.
- Sexual Minorities: Serial Sources of Information on Male Homosexuals, Lesbians, Transvestites, and Transexuals, Held by the Labadie Collection of Protest Literature byCall Number: 016.306766 H226SPublication Date: 1975
- International Directory of Gay and Lesbian Periodicals byCall Number: 016.30676605 M295IISBN: 0897742974Publication Date: 1987
- Our Own Voices: A Directory of Lesbian and Gay Periodicals, 1890-1990: Including the Complete Holdings of the Canadian Gay Archives byCall Number: 016.30676605 M612OISBN: 0969098162Publication Date: 1991Not just Canadian periodicals, and a very large number of periodicals published in the United States.
- The Directory of Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual Community Publications in the United States and Canada byCall Number: 016.30670625 So69d 1993Publication Date: 19932nd ed.
- Guide to the Pornographic Magazine Collection at University of Illinois byCall Number: 016.36347 ONLINEPublication Date: 2018-A list of pornographic magazines, many of them for gay and lesbian readers, in the University Library. Bulk of the collection is from the 1970s and 1980s.
- Sexual Minorities: Serial Sources of Information on Male Homosexuals, Lesbians, Transvestites, and Transexuals, Held by the Labadie Collection of Protest Literature byCall Number: 016.306766 H226SPublication Date: 1975
- Lesbian Sources: A Bibliography of Periodical Articles, 1970-1990 byCall Number: 016.30548966 G163LISBN: 0815307829Publication Date: 1992Articles from 64 periodicals arranged according to 162 subject headings, from Abortion to Work.
- Harris Guide: The Directory of the World’s GLBT Press, now including Both Print and Broadcasting Media byCall Number: 070.4493059 H24qPublication Date: 2000-
- Sexuality Research Guide byCall Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2018-A guide created by the curators of the nationally renowned History of Sexuality Collection (HSC), this guide is not specific to the resources at the HSC, but is intended to help researchers wishing to study the subject from anywhere, with an emphasis on resources available online.
- Sex Research: Bibliographies from the Institute for Sex Research byCall Number: 016.3067072 Se91ISBN: 9780912700489Publication Date: 1979
- An Index to the Advocate: The National Gay Newsmagazine, 1967-1982 byCall Number: Q. 306.76605 LO1 Index1967-1982ISBN: 0917076087Publication Date: 1988
- Lesbianism: An Annotated Bibliography and Guide to the Literature, 1976-1986 byCall Number: 016.3067663 M272LISBN: 081082048XPublication Date: 1987
- The Lesbian Periodicals Index byCall Number: 016.3067663 P851LPublication Date: 1986Subject index to articles in 42 lesbian periodicals, ca. 1947-1985.
- A Gay Bibliography: Eight Bibliographies on Lesbian and Male Homosexuality byCall Number: 016.3014243 G25ISBN: 0405073496Publication Date: 1975Reprint of eight classic bibliographies.
- Homosexuality: A Selective Bibliography of over 3,000 Items byCall Number: 016.3014243 P22HISBN: 0810804255Publication Date: 1971With two supplements (1970-1975, and 1976-1982).
- Homosexuality: An Annotated Bibliography byCall Number: 016.3014243 W43HISBN: 0060145412Publication Date: 1972From the Kinsey Institute, and therefore stresses medical/psychiatric perspectives.
- Out of the Closet, into the Archives: Researching Sexual Histories byCall Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781438459035Publication Date: 2015
- A Selective Annotated Bibliography of Lesbian Writers, 1987-1997 byCall Number: 016.80883 M636sPublication Date: 1999
- Gay and Lesbian American Plays: An Annotated Bibliography byCall Number: 016.8108 ONLINEISBN: 0810826895Publication Date: 1993
- Black and White Men Together: A Preliminary Bibliography and Resource Guide: Race, Racism and the Gay Male Community byCall Number: 016.3067662 W636PPublication Date: 1980s
- Lost Gay Novels: A Reference Guide to Fifty Works from the First Half of the Twentieth Century byCall Number: 820.93 Sl34lISBN: 9781560234135Publication Date: 2003
- Gay Canada: A Bibliography and Videography, 1984-2000 byCall Number: 016.30676 Sp32gISBN: 1551302063Publication Date: 2001
- Gender Dysphoria: A Guide to Research byCall Number: 016.616858 D428GISBN: 081530840XPublication Date: 1994
- Homosexuality in Specific Fields: The Arts, the Military, the Ministry, Prisons, Sports, Teaching, and Transsexuals: A Selected Bibliography byCall Number: 016.30676 M612HPublication Date: 1978
- Internet Lesbian and Gay Television Series, 1996-2014 byCall Number: PN1992.8.G39 T54 2015ISBN: 9780786498055Publication Date: 2015
- Anti-Abortion Movement: References and Resources byCall Number: 016.36346 B592AISBN: 9780816172580Publication Date: 1996
- The History of Abortion in the United States: A Working Bibliography of Journal Articles byCall Number: 016.35 P961 no.3041-3059ISBN: 0792007611Publication Date: 1991
Biographical Information
The most common reference sources for biographical information are biographical encyclopedias, and directories. Use the Library Catalog to find book-length biographies of individuals.
- Queers in History: The Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Historical Gays, Lesbians and Bisexuals, and Transgenders byCall Number: 306.760922 St457qISBN: 9781933771878Publication Date: 2009
- Who's Who in Gay and Lesbian History byCall Number: 306.760922 ONLINEISBN: 0415159830Publication Date: 2003
- The Queer Encyclopedia of Film and Television byCall Number: 790.208664 Q319ISBN: 9781573442091Publication Date: 2005A biographical encyclopedia.
- Historical Dictionary of Lesbian Literature byCall Number: PN491.3 .M55 2006ISBN: 0810849410Publication Date: 2006Short biographies with bibliographies.
- Who's Who in Lesbian and Gay Writing byCall Number: 809.8920664 G875wISBN: 0415159849Publication Date: 2002
- Contemporary Gay American Novelists: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook byCall Number: 813.0922 C767ISBN: 9780313280191Publication Date: 1993
- Bay Area Reporter Obituary DatabaseSearchable database of all obituaries published in the Bay Area Reporter (important LGBTQ newspaper published in San Francisco). Includes readable clipping of every obituary published in the newspaper since 1972 (the year it began publishing obituaries).
- HeritageQuest
This link opens in a new window
A subset of the record collections in Ancestry.com. Includes: U.S. Decennial Census enumeration forms (1790-1940); city directories (1821-1989); 1850 and 1860 slave schedules (from the Seventh and Eighth U.S. Decennial Censuses); Indian census rolls (1885-1940); U.S. Decennial Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 (availability of records varies by state); and U.S. Decennial Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880 (emphasis on agriculture schedules and manufacturing/industry schedules).
Factual Information
Listed here are sources of factual information, which can include almanacs, chronologies, factbooks, statistical compendia, and directories (directories that include personal information are included in the above section on biographies; directories listing places and businesses are listed separately below). Directories especially can be interesting as historical sources as they tend to be published serially (usually annually), and therefore provide a snapshot of the world during the year covered.
- Out in All Directions: The Almanac of Gay and Lesbian America byCall Number: 305.906642 OU8ISBN: 0446518220Publication Date: 1995
- St. James Press Gay and Lesbian Almanac byCall Number: Q. 305.9066409 St59ISBN: 1558623582Publication Date: 1998
- Same-Sex Partners: The Demography of Sexual Orientation byCall Number: 306.8480973 B327sISBN: 9780791476093Publication Date: 2009
- Gay and Lesbian Stats: A Pocket Guide of Facts and Figures byCall Number: 305.90664021 SI64GISBN: 1565841557Publication Date: 1994
- Black Same-Sex Households in the United States: A Report from the 2000 Census byCall Number: 306.7662 D212bPublication Date: 2004
- Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)Formerly American Religious Data Archive. Compiles statistics, maps, and directories on religious activities around the world, with an emphasis on the United States.
Public Opinion
- Gallup Poll byCall Number: 301.154 G13Publication Date: 1935-Public opinion polls, 1935-present. See also the print index to 1935-1997.
- AIDS 1983-1991: A Compilation of Gallup Poll Reports byCall Number: 616.9792 AI25223Publication Date: 1992
- Sex in the 20th Century, 1943-1991: A Compilation of Gallup Poll Reports byCall Number: 306.70973 SE916Publication Date: 1992
- The Gallup International Public Opinion Polls, France, 1939, 1944-1975 byCall Number: 301.154 G1382gISBN: 0394409981Publication Date: 1976
- The Gallup International Public Opinion Polls, Great Britain, 1937-1975 byCall Number: 301.154 G1382gaISBN: 9780394409924Publication Date: 1976
- Roper Center for Public Opinion ArchivesSurvey data from about 150 polling organizations, including Gallup. Emphasis on the United States, with some international polls. Coverage back to the 1930s.