U.S. congressional materials, 1789 through 1838. Generally regarded as the unofficial predecessor to the United States Congressional Serial Set, though the two overlap chronologically somewhat.

A collection of Congressional "Reports" and "Documents". A Congressional Report is an official report to the House of Representatives or the Senate, issued by a House or Senate committee, usually related to legislation about to be considered by Congress. Congressional Documents, on the other hand, are typically reports to Congress by Executive Branch departments, but can also include documents received by Congress from other sources. Congress began publishing the Serial Set in 1817. The predecessor to the Serial Set was the National State Papers of the United States, also known as the American State Papers. The American State Papers cover the years 1789-1817, and then were published alongside the Serial Set until 1838. The Serial Set and the American State Papers are also available through ProQuest Congressional. ProQuest Congressional's version of the Serial Set includes the most recent volumes, whereas the version linked above (Readex) ends with the volumes for the 96th Congress in 1980.

All public and private bills and resolutions of the United States Congress. Previously called "Digital U.S. Bills and Resolutions". Part of ProQuest Congressional. Navigate to "Advanced Search" and select file "Bills and Laws".

Both the published and unpublished hearings, which includes transcripts of spoken testimony, written statements of witnesses, reports, exhibits, correspondence, or other material submitted by interested parties. Hearings are held by Congressional committees as a way of collecting the information needed to inform decision making. Part of ProQuest Congressional. Navigate to "Advanced Search" and select the file "Hearings".

In ProQuest Congressional (for best results, choose the "Congressional Record Only" search tab). The Congressional Record, which began publication in 1873, is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Its predecessors were the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873). The Hein Online Congressional Documents Library has a slightly more-extensive collection: the Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1789), the Annals of the Congress of the United States (1789-1824), the Register of Debates in Congress (1825-1837), the Congressional Globe (1833-1873), the Congressional Record (1873-present), and the Congressional Record Daily (1980-present, updated daily). Part of ProQuest Congressional: navigate to "Advanced Search" and select the file "Congressional Record".

Part of ProQuest Congressional. Combines two separate files: CRS Reports, 1916-present; and Committee Prints, 1830-present. CRS Reports are produced by the Congressional Research Service, an official arm of the United States Congress, in response to requests from Congress. Committee Prints are studies and reports produced for specific Congressional committees. Both CRS Reports and Committee Prints are used to support Congressmen and Congresswomen in their legislative work. Part of ProQuest Congressional. Navigate to "Advanced Search" and select file "CRS Reports".

Links Congressional documents like bills, committee hearings, committee reports, and Congressional Record entries (debates and other floor action including votes)--the multiple versions of a bill and publications that document the (typically fairly complicated) history of a Public Law. Organized by Public Law number. Not comprehensive, with emphasis on landmark legislation. Currently goes back to 1930.

Executive orders and proclamations are legal instruments, and as such carry the force of law. Part of ProQuest Congressional. Navigate to "Advanced Search" and select file "Presidential Materials".

A selected collection of the most important documents from collections of presidential papers. Includes: Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Washington through Taft; the Public Papers of the Presidents, Hoover to Obama; the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, Carter through George W. Bush; the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, Obama. Project of the University of California, Santa Barbara.

The Census enumeration forms are used to conduct the Decennial Census. In theory, they identify every resident of every household in the country, along with information about each resident. Information recorded changes from census to census, but usually includes each resident's relationship to the head of household, the date of birth, the person's country of origin, the person's occupation, gender, marital status, whether or not the person owns his or her own home, and other information. Because so much personal information is included on these forms, they are not made publicly available until 72 years after it was collected. Thus, the most recently available enumeration forms are from the 16th Census of the United States (1940). Part of HeritageQuest.

A large collection of the files and records most recently requested by Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests. Examples: Weather Underground, Black Panther Party, Dorothy Day, Mississippi Burning, Elijah Muhammad, and more. Suspected communists and socialists were frequently investigated.

TRIAL. Digitized from the following microfilm sets: COINTELPRO: The Counterintelligence Program of the FBI; FBI File on Abbie Hoffman; FBI file on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina; FBI File on Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers; FBI File on the Fire Bombing and Shooting at Kent State University; FBI Files on Malcolm X; FBI File: MIBURN (Mississippi Burning); FBI File on Muslim Mosque, Inc.; FBI File on the Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU); FBI File on the Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization; FBI File on the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee; and FBI Investigation File on Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. Part of Archives Unbound.

Geographic coverage: United States.
Date range: 1950-2001.
Document types: FBI records documenting the surveillance of LGBTQ individuals and organizations, Siminoski's correspondence with the FBI and attorneys, legal filings, personal and professional papers, drafts of scholarly articles, conference presentations, Siminoski's syndicated columns, and other published work.
Topical coverage: LGBTQ life.
Source Institution: ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives.
Part of The Archives of Sexuality and Gender.

Geographic coverage: United States.
Date range: 1989-1993.
Document types: Letters, reports, memoranda, articles, government documents, petitions, and all other manner of published and published documents that informed decision making during the George H.W. Bush Administration.
Topical coverage: HIV/AIDS crisis and government response.
Source institution: George Bush Presidential Library.
Part of The Archives of Sexuality and Gender.

Centerpiece of this collection is a complete run of the United States Reports, which is the official, published version of all Supreme Court rulings. Expect a lag of several years between a ruling and its final, published form. After the Court rules on a case, the ruling is issued (within several days) as a numbered "Slip Opinion." These slip opinions are eventually compiled and published as Preliminary Prints prior to their final publication in the U.S. Reports. The Hein Supreme Court Library also includes a large collection of books and periodicals on the Court and its rulings.

Almost 150,000 Supreme Court cases are featured, the majority consisting of those for which the Court did not give a full opinion. Digitized from the holdings of the Jenkins Memorial Law Library, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and the the Library of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York.

Historical record of statutory, administrative, and case law for U.S. federal government, states, and territories.

Covers the years immediately following World War II to the present. Documents on major foreign and domestic events, including the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, and others. Former title: Declassified Documents Reference System. Part of Gale Primary Sources.

Major collection of government documents, including documents of the states, federal U.S. documents (statutory law, administrative law, case law), documents of foreign countries, international law, and more. Also includes a large collection of legal periodicals.

Over 200,000 UK Parliamentary papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. Includes: House of Commons papers, 1715-2010; Bills and Acts, 1695-2010; Command Papers, 1833-2010; House of Lords papers, 1714-1805; Debates (pre-Hansard), 1774-1805; Hansard (debates), 1803-2005; Journals, 1688-1834; and Histories and Proceedings, 1660-1743.

National Archives record series CAB 37: Cabinet Office: Photographic Copies of Cabinet Papers. National Archives description of this series: "This series consists of a collection of photographic copies of memoranda circulated to the Cabinet to the end of 1916 compiled from various official and private sources. Includes material on the Reconstruction Committee. This series originally comprised 162 volumes." Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Complete minutes and memoranda of the cabinet of British Prime Minister Harold MacMillan, 1957-1963.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

1843-1897. From the collections of the British Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Full color digital facsimiles of Queen Victoria's journals, reproduced in their entirety, along with transcribed and re-keyed text for improved search-ability.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Records from 10 industrial and reformatory schools in Britain, selected from National Archives record series MH 102: Home Office: Children's Department: Registered Files. Also includes MH 102/1400: Emigration of children to farm schools in Australia and Canada: Fairbridge Society Emigration Scheme; correspondence between Overseas Settlement Department, Ministry of Health and Child Emigration Society of Oxford (1910-1937). Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Documents from the British National Archives, with emphasis on the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928 and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962.

National Archives record series HO 64: Home Office: Criminal (Rewards and Pardons) Correspondence and Secret Service Reports. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Selections from National Archives record series ED: Records created or inherited by the Department of Education and Science, and of related bodies, with emphasis on schools for the blind and/or deaf, mentally defective or epileptic, and physically defective. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1815-1916. National Archives record series HO 41: Home Office: Disturbances Entry Books. National Archives description of this series: ome Office entries of out-letters, warrants, etc. relating to riots, disturbances and political activities." Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

National Archives record series HO 44: Home Office: Domestic Correspondence from 1773 to 1861. National Archives description: "The records reflect the varied responsibilities of the Home Secretary's office, including: addresses and petitions to the crown, aliens and refugees, appointments to public offices and ecclesiastical dignities, disturbances and sedition, honours and orders of chivalry, inventions, poor relief, prison administration, public health, public order, royal patronage in Great Britain and Ireland, and the universities. Among matters covered extensively are Chartism, agricultural distress, and the introduction of power looms and other industrial machinery. Some papers are grouped according to subjects of particular contemporary importance, among them the claim of Olive Serres to be Princess of Cumberland and Duchess of Lancaster (1819-1830), the Cato Street Conspiracy of 1820, the case of Caroline of Brunswick, Princess of Wales, and the disturbances which accompanied her funeral in 1821, and the attempt to assassinate Queen Victoria in 1840. Other subjects represented include the Duc de Bouillon's work for refugees, 1794-1801, socialist periodicals and pamphlets, 1838-1840, and membership of the Poor Knights of Windsor. Two substantial blocks of papers contain, respectively, replies from customs houses to a questionnaire relating to shipwrecks, 1815, and quarterly returns of births and deaths for various English and Welsh counties, 1860 and 1861." Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1782-1898. National Archives record series HO 43: Home Office: Domestic Entry Books. National Archives description: "From 1782 to 1871 these Home Office domestic entry books contain out-letters to the Lord Chancellor, judges, local magistrates and officials, police authorities, and private persons on matters of local administration and justice. The subjects covered include duties of lords lieutenant, sheriffs, clerks of the peace, coroners and other local officials, arson cases, commissions of sewers, exequaturs and recognitions of consular officials, explosives, extradition, fairs and markets, pardons and rewards for information. Out-letters relating to borough funds, inebriate retreats, lunatic asylums, parliamentary bills and wild birds were later entered in this series. From July 1871 to February 1873 there is a gap." Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1784-1850. National Archives record series HO 33: Home Office: Post Office Correspondence. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1839-1916. From National Archives record series HO 45: Home Office: Registered Papers. National Archives Description: "This is the main series of Home Office papers. The subject matter of the files reflects the diversity of domestic matters dealt with by the Home Office. These have included aliens, betting and gaming, borstals, building societies, burials and cremations, bye-laws, changes of name, the Channel Islands, charities, children, civil juries, drugs, ecclesiastical matters, elections, explosives, extradition, factories, fire services, firearms, honours, Ireland and subsequently Northern Ireland, the Isle of Man, magistrates, markets and fairs, Lords Lieutenant, mental patients and criminal lunatics, naturalization, pardons, petitions of right, poisons, police, prisons, prostitution, public order, use of royal title by institutions and companies, universities, vivisection, wartime measures, warrants and wild birds. For naturalization papers: information regarding the place of residence (usually town) only appears from 1878 onwards. From 1848 all papers reaching the Home Office were registered centrally, and earlier papers were numbered retrospectively. Those papers selected for preservation were re-registered as OS (Old Series) papers. In 1871 a single numerical series was introduced, to be replaced in 1880 by a numerical series with an A prefix. This was followed shortly afterwards by series with B, V, and X prefixes. These series were replaced in 1902 by a six figure numerical series starting at 100,001 which continued until 1949 when separate series were introduced for each function, each distinguished by letter symbols. The catalogue is arranged in subject order within blocks of years. The same subject headings are those used by the Home Office in its registers (HO 46). The portion of the list covering the years 1871-1919 cites the original Home Office file number only. To order these files a box number is needed as well as a file number. This can be found in the box list, in which the file number should be sought in the appropriate block of boxes (eg 1871-8, 1879-1900, 1901-1909, 1910-1919). The ordering reference will then be in the form HO 45/box no./file no. (eg HO 45/10523/140292). From 1921, box numbers as well as file numbers are given together in the series list. The list for the years 1841-1855 is incomplete. A manuscript version is available in the reading rooms at The National Archives, Kew, and should be consulted for subjects not appearing in the on-line list. Readers should note that the series number is not cited in the manuscript list. If a number cited in it has no letter prefix or is prefixed by the letters 'OS', the paper will be found in HO 45; if a number is prefixed by the letters 'OC' the paper will be found in HO 12. A few papers referred to in the manuscript list could not be identified in either HO 45 or HO 12 and so no reference could be cited in the on-line list. The electronic list for HO 45 mostly retains the structure used in the Standard Set. However, whereas the Standard Set has seven blocks of files (each block corresponding to a date range) the electronic list currently has six blocks, the first two date ranges having been combined into one block. The six blocks in the electronic list each come under a heading corresponding to the date range. From the date range 1872-1878 onwards, the electronic list for each block is an amalgam of the block subject list and the block packing list as seen in the Standard Set. The files listed in the subject list come first. The subject headings used have been branched down to the level of the file description. The order of the Standard Set subject list has usually been maintained, with files listed under, for example, 'Aberdeen' coming before 'Accidents'. At the end of each block in the electronic list, and following the files once listed in the Standard Set subject list, come files without any description. They have been taken from the Standard Set packing list and are essentially references that could not be matched to a file description in the subject list. These files are arranged in numerical order." Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1783-1894. National Archives record series HO 42: Home Office: Domestic Correspondence, George III. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Selected records from National Archives record series PCOM 2/291: Home Office and Prison Commission: Prisons Records, Series 1: Prisoners: Photograph Album. Selections focus on juvenile prisoners. Each photograph is accompanied by information about the prison subject. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

The largest body of texts ever published detailing the lives of ordinary people, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court, with summaries or transcripts of testimony.

From National Archives record series HO 52: Home Office: Counties Correspondence. Continues: HO 42 (Home Office Papers and Records), and continued by: HO 45 (Civil Disturbance, Chartism, and Riots in Nineteenth-Century England). National Archives description: "Original Home Office correspondence and papers from magistrates, officers and other county authorities, from municipal corporations, etc. Much of the correspondence relates to the maintenance of public order and contains reports of local conditions, including riots, arson and other civil disturbances. The main series ceases in 1840 but there are a few papers between 1840 and 1850. The papers are arranged under counties. The papers are incoming letters from local landowners or officials (mayors, aldermen, magistrates or their clerks). The records arrangements change through the period covered by the series. The first five boxes (1820-1829) are 'all counties' boxes covering specific years. From 1830 to 1838 the annual incoming correspondence to the Home Office increases due to the reports of agricultural disturbances (Swing Riots), trade union activity and increased reports of the demands for parliamentary reform. For this period the boxes are arranged in county ranges, e.g. Bedford to Kent (which includes alphabetically all counties in-between). In the majority of cases the county referred to is the place in which the correspondent is writing from as well as the location of the places mentioned in the letter, report memo etc. On other occasions this refers to the places/county being discussed in the content of the letter: the correspondent writing from elsewhere. In a few cases the correspondent may live within one county but were writing about events in the neighbouring county: for example a magistrate in Lancashire reporting on activities in Yorkshire. From 1839 to 1840 the records are arranged alphabetically by place name (e.g. A-D; where for example a letter from Berwick upon Tweed would be filed). In the very last volume there are a number of papers to 1850." Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1805-1900. Over half a million documents used by the British government to formulate public health policy in the 19th century. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Geographic coverage: United Kingdom.
Date range: 1954-1957.
Document types: Hearing transcripts, committee papers, meeting notes, meeting minutes, correspondence, report drafts; and the final report..
Topical coverage: Criminalization of homosexuality.
Source institution: The National Archives (Kew, United Kingdom).
Part of The Archives of Sexuality and Gender.