Ask a Librarian
Kelli Trei, Biosciences Librarian
218 Funk ACES Library
1101 S. Goodwin Ave., M/C 633
Urbana, IL 61801
Collection Credit
This collection was started in 2022 by Kelli Trei (Biosciences Librarian, Funk Library) and Jason Larsen (Comics Studies Librarian, Michigan State University).
What is Graphic Science?
Graphic Science is a sub-category of comic literature that focuses on themes and stories based on science and scientific disciplines. This includes areas such as biology, physics, or environmental science, but might also have a narrower focuses such as human reproduction or climate change. These comics may be published in more traditional formats, such as in a comic book, or they might be published online in the form of comic strips.
While comics have been delving into science topics since the 1970s, the term "Graphic Science" was coined around 2018. If it follows Graphic Medicine, another sub-category of comic literature which evolved in the late 2000s, by the end of the 2030s these comics should have enough materials to create their own proper category of comic literature.
For those interested in graphic medicine, explore the University Library Guide: Graphic Medicine to learn more.
Examples of Graphic Science at Funk
A Fire Story by Call Number: PN6727.F483 F57 2020Publication Date: 2021-04-20Early morning on Monday, October 9, 2017, wildfires burned through Northern California, resulting in 44 fatalities. In addition, 6,200 homes and 8,900 structures and were destroyed. Author Brian Fies's firsthand account of this tragic event is an honest, unflinching depiction of his personal experiences, including losing his house and every possession he and his wife had that didn't fit into the back of their car.
The Way of the Hive by Call Number: PZ7.7.H67 Way 2021Publication Date: 2021-04-20Experience the life of a honeybee in this coming-of-age story about a bee named Nyuki. Nyuki is a brand-new honeybee--and she has a lot of questions. Follow Nyuki on a lifelong journey as she annoys her sisters, avoids predators, and learns to trust her inner voice as she masters the way of the hive.
The Adventures of Alexander Von Humboldt by Call Number: Q. 508.092 W955Publication Date: 2019-04-02A breathtakingly illustrated and brilliantly evocative recounting of Alexander Von Humboldt's five-year expedition in South America. Alexander von Humboldt (1769-1859) was an intrepid explorer and the most famous scientist of his age. His restless life was packed with adventure and discovery, but his most revolutionary idea was a radical vision of nature as a complex and interconnected global force that does not exist for the use of humankind alone. His theories and ideas were profoundly influenced by a five-year exploration of South America.
Graphic Science at Funk Library
Funk Library began planning and collecting graphic science materials in 2022. While graphic science covers a broad range of topics, the collection at Funk Library focuses on materials related to the life sciences, which means our materials are centered on sciences related to any living thing. While not always non-fiction, graphic science material at Funk are intended to be non-fiction and targeted for an audience in their late teens to early 20's to align with our student's needs. The collection uses the medium of comics as a tool to communicate biosciences concepts and knowledge to students.
Make a Suggestion for Funk's Collection
Find a graphic science novel that Funk Library does not have? Suggest a purchase to help build the collection!