Great Lakes Regional Pollution Prevention Roundtable Archive

Articles and documents by and about GLRPPR and P2Rx

Incomplete archive of progress and final reports for grants that GLRPPR received.

Results of a literature search for peer-reviewed documents related to CO2 refrigeration and/or P2 opportunities for ammonia, hydrochloric acid, hydrogen sulfide, n-hexane, nitric compounds, and sulfuric acid, as used in the food manufacturing sector.

Links to documents and research articles related to the environmental impact of and pollution prevention options for commercial car washes.

The information in this publication was originally developed as narrative for the Technology Diffusion Topic Hub in 2004. Topic Hubs were web-based guides to peer-reviewed pollution prevention information and expertise on specific subjects. They were developed by centers in the Pollution Prevention Resource Exchange (P2Rx) network, which was funded by U.S. EPA until 2018. This publication was created by Laura L. Barnes, Sustainability Information Curator at the Illinois Sustainable Technology Center, to preserve the topic hub’s narrative content and include peer-reviewed studies and new publications on the topic.

This bibliography resulted from an information request to identify resources that state and county governments can use when developing waste reduction policies. It serves as a starting point for communities looking to do similar projects.

In this report, the Great Lakes Regional Pollution Prevention Roundtable (GLRPPR) has used publicly available environmental data to establish a regional baseline for industrial chemical use and emissions; pollution prevention (P2) techniques; greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions; and economic impact data for selected industry sectors in U.S. EPA Region 5. The project team searched, compiled, and analyzed selected data sets from USEPA’s Toxics Release Inventory (TRI), the GHG emissions database on Envirofacts, and the Census Bureau’s County Business Patterns database on American FactFinder.

In 2015, the Great Lakes Regional Pollution Prevention Roundtable (GLRPPR) began a project to analyze data from U.S. EPA’s Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and Greenhouse Gas databases and the Census Bureau’s County Business Patterns Database to determine the impact of manufacturing on the economy and environment of the six states in U.S. EPA Region 5. This paper summarizes findings for Illinois’ manufacturing sector (NAICS 311-337).

In 2015, the Great Lakes Regional Pollution Prevention Roundtable (GLRPPR) began a project to analyze data from U.S. EPA’s Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and Greenhouse Gas databases and the Census Bureau’s County Business Patterns Database to determine the impact of manufacturing on the economy and environment of the six states in U.S. EPA Region 5. This paper summarizes findings for Indiana's manufacturing sector (NAICS 311-337).

In 2015, the Great Lakes Regional Pollution Prevention Roundtable (GLRPPR) began a project to analyze data from U.S. EPA’s Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and Greenhouse Gas databases and the Census Bureau’s County Business Patterns Database to determine the impact of manufacturing on the economy and environment of the six states in U.S. EPA Region 5. This fact sheet summarizes findings for Michigan's manufacturing sector (NAICS 311-337).

In 2015, the Great Lakes Regional Pollution Prevention Roundtable (GLRPPR) began a project to analyze data from U.S. EPA’s Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and Greenhouse Gas databases and the Census Bureau’s County Business Patterns Database to determine the impact of manufacturing on the economy and environment of the six states in U.S. EPA Region 5. This fact sheet summarizes findings for Minnesota's manufacturing sector (NAICS 311-337).

In 2015, the Great Lakes Regional Pollution Prevention Roundtable (GLRPPR) began a project to analyze data from U.S. EPA’s Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and Greenhouse Gas databases and the Census Bureau’s County Business Patterns Database to determine the impact of manufacturing on the economy and environment of the six states in U.S. EPA Region 5. This fact sheet summarizes findings for Ohio's manufacturing sector (NAICS 311-337).

In 2015, the Great Lakes Regional Pollution Prevention Roundtable (GLRPPR) began a project to analyze data from U.S. EPA’s Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and Greenhouse Gas databases and the Census Bureau’s County Business Patterns Database to determine the impact of manufacturing on the economy and environment of the six states in U.S. EPA Region 5. This fact sheet summarizes findings for Wisconsin's manufacturing sector (NAICS 311-337).

In 2015, the Great Lakes Regional Pollution Prevention Roundtable (GLRPPR) began a project to analyze public data sets to determine the impact of manufacturing on the economy and environment of the six states in U.S. EPA Region 5. The goal of this project was to use the analyzed results to assist pollution prevention technical assistance programs (P2 TAPs) with targeting their assistance efforts. This white paper summarizes preliminary findings related to the food manufacturing and processing industry (NAICS code 311).

In 2015, the Great Lakes Regional Pollution Prevention Roundtable (GLRPPR) began a project to analyze public data sets to determine the impact of manufacturing on the economy and environment of the six states in U.S. EPA Region 5. The goal of this project was to use the analyzed results to assist pollution prevention technical assistance programs (P2 TAPs) with targeting their assistance efforts. This fact sheet summarizes findings related to the fabricated metals industry (NAICS code 332).

In 2015, the Great Lakes Regional Pollution Prevention Roundtable (GLRPPR) began a project to analyze public data sets to determine the impact of manufacturing on the economy and environment of the six states in U.S. EPA Region 5. The project’s goal was to use the analyzed results to assist pollution prevention technical assistance programs (P2 TAPs) with targeting their assistance efforts. The project resulted in a report, a series of fact sheets, and a data visualization tool. This guide provides information about how to use the tool.

The Great Lakes Regional Pollution Prevention Roundtable (GLRPPR) is a professional organization that facilitates networking among and develops and promotes information resources and training for sustainability professionals in the Great Lakes region of the U.S. and Canada. GLRPPR’s four focus areas are: Green Chemistry and Engineering; Technical Assistance; Behavior Change and Sustainability; and Sustainable Electronics. Because these focus areas are very broad, GLRPPR contracted with the University of Illinois’ Survey Research Laboratory (SRL) to conduct a regional information needs assessment in 2014. The assessment was designed to determine how pollution prevention (P2) technical assistance providers in the region currently locate and access information; how they stay up-to-date in the field; how they prefer to receive training; and what training and information gaps exist within these broad focus areas. GLRPPR staff worked with the SRL project manager to develop an assessment instrument, obtain Institutional Research Board approval, and encourage GLRPPR members to respond to the request to provide feedback.

The Survey Research Laboratory (SRL) at the University of Illinois assisted Principal Investigator Laura Barnes, Executive Director of the Great Lakes Regional Pollution Prevention Roundtable (GLRPPR), with a Web-based survey of GLRPPR members to evaluate their needs for information about pollution prevention and waste reduction and to what extent the organization’s Web site (http://www.glrppr.org) meets those needs. This document describes the study methodology and presents the study results.

GLRPPR's blog began in 2006. It was intended to replace the quarterly LINK newsletter.

Link was the newsletter of the Great Lakes Regional Pollution Prevention Roundtable. It was replaced by the GLRPPR Blog in 2006.