Skip to Main Content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

United States Executive Branch

A Government Information Services guide providing suggested resources and other information for beginning research on the Executive Branch of the U.S. federal government.

Departments of the Executive Branch

There are 15 Executive Departments in the Executive Branch. The heads of these departments make up the Cabinet, a group of advisers to the President.