Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A to Z Databases
Search for databases alphabetically, by subject, type, or vendor.
Biology Virtual Library Homepage
As a virtual space, the online library has a customized Easy Search tab for the Biological Sciences and links to frequently used databases and other useful resources. Subject areas include all aspects of the biological sciences, biochemistry, and bioengineering.
Department of Plant Biology Homepage
Website for UIUC's Department of Plant Biology
Search across UIUC's library catalog, I-Share catalog, and WorldCat catalog simultaneously.
Funk ACES Library
Website for UIUC's Funk Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences Library.
Journal and Article Locator
Enter the name of a journal or article and see if the library has access to it.
Search for materials held in UIUC's collections.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Online, open access library of biodiversity literature.
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
An online resource to explore life sciences. The resource is updated monthly and all articles are peer-reviewed.
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.
Guide to Reference and Information Sources in Plant Biology from the BVL
This site contains the URLs and annotations for all eResources listed in the third edition of Guide to Reference and Information Sources in Plant Biology , published by “Libraries Unlimited” in December 2005.
How to Read a Scientific Paper Libguide by the Biology Librarian
Examines the structure of scientific articles and offers tips on how to effectively read them.
Introduction to Scopus Libguide by the Funk ACES Library
Learn how to search for articles, organize your results, and personalize your experience in Scopus.
PubMed Libguide by the Funk ACES Library
A guide to the PubMed database from the Funk/ACES Library at the University of Illinois.
Using the Biological Literature: A Practical Guide from the BVL
This annotated guide to the literature of the biological sciences covers over 3,000 major books, journals, and Web sites of interest to biologists and biologists-in-training.
Kelli Trei, Biology Librarian