Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Molecular & Cellular Biology Department: Databases

A guide for those in the School of Molecular and Cellular Biology. After using this guide, students in Cellular and Developmental Biology will be able to locate resources that are needed for their field of study.

Databases

American Type Culture Collection (ATCC)

ATCC is the premier global biological materials resource and standards organization whose mission focuses on the acquisition, authentication, production, preservation, development, and distribution of standard reference microorganisms, cell lines, and other materials.


European Collection of Authenticated Cell Cultures

Scientists across the world use PHE Culture Collection materials to determine the effects of drugs, cosmetics, radiation, viruses, chemical and biological weapons, pesticides and household chemicals on human cells. 


Microbiological Resource Databank: MIRDAB Catalog

Provides information on microbiological research.


PubMed

Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.


Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.


Web of Science (All Databases Search)

Easily search across all subscribed Web of Science databases simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results. Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

About Databases

Databases are large, regularly updated files of articles from journals, magazines, and trade publications related to a specific subject or field. The databases listed to the left are related to molecular and cellular biology, and related fields.

Some database coverage overlaps (i.e., some databases collect the same articles from the same journals), but you will find different results by searching in different databases. To be comprehensive in your research, it's a good idea to search more than one database.