Mental Health Resources
- Alcohol and Drug Prevention ProgramUniversity of Illinois Urbana-Champaign strives to support an environment that discourages substance misuse and promotes healthy decisions about alcohol and other drugs. This page provides general health risks of alcohol and drugs, as well as providing resources for students and employees to seek help. University policies about drugs and alcohol are also listed here.
- Counseling CenterUniversity of Illinois Urbana-Champaign’s counseling center and its listed services. The Center provides generally short-term counseling to individuals, couples, and groups through the health services fee. The Counseling Center address a range of issues including mental health issues like depression and anxiety, academic issues like time management and studying skills, and adjustment issues such as roommate problems and homesickness.
- Counseling Center's Guide for Stress ManagementUniversity of Illinois Urbana-Champaign counseling center guide for stress management. Resources include information about stress, tips for managing stress, and a list of further resources.
- Counseling Center's Suicide Prevention ProgramThe Counseling Center’s suicide prevention resources, including programs, events, policies, frequently asked questions, and myths and facts.
- Kognito’s Suicide Prevention Training Game for University StudentsAn online interactive learning game to teach university students how to identify, approach, and refer students exhibiting signs of psychological distress including depression, thoughts of suicide, and anxiety.
- McKinley Mental Health Services and SupportA general description of the mental health services that the McKinley Health center provides, including short-term individual psychotherapy and medication. Health Services and Support also provides detailed instructions on what to do in a mental health crisis and what to expect in a first appointment.
- Rosecrance Emergency Mental Health Services and Substance Abuse TreatmentRosecrance is a non-University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign affiliated health treatment center for the Central Illinois region. They provide free substance abuse assessments, adult residential services, adult substance abuse intensive outpatient treatment, and substance abuse continuing care groups. Rosecrance also provides mental health and crisis services and is available to anyone in Champaign County who is experiencing an acute psychiatric crisis
- Tranquility Kit (Main Library Loanable Technology)Patrons can check out a tranquility kit from the UIUC library. Kits include noise-canceling headphones, fidget toys, exercise bands, and a HappyLight. Kits can be checked out for ten days
Library Resources
Coping with Stress at University by ISBN: 9781848605671Publication Date: 2006-01-01Coping with Stress at University comprehensively covers the main problems and stresses that a student may experience during their university career. Looking at university life from a variety of angles, this book equips the student to be able to deal with stressful situations ranging from exam pressure to relationship problems, from homesickness to managing finances. Although the problems do not change, the way a student faces them can and the more effective the approach, the less stress the student will feel when tackling their concerns.- Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, & Recovery byISBN: 9781412964500Publication Date: 2009An electronic resource that outlines commonly used and abused drugs, family and community factors, prevention, treatment, and assessment and diagnosis in short, easy-to-read entries.
A Freshman Survival Guide for College Students with Autism Spectrum Disorders by ISBN: 9781849059848Publication Date: 2014-06-21How do you know which college is right for you? What happens if you don't get on with your roommate? And what on earth is the Greek system all about? As a university student with High-Functioning Autism, Haley Moss offers essential tips and advice in this insider's guide to surviving the Freshman year of college. Chatty, honest and full of really useful information, Haley's first-hand account of the college experience covers everything students with Autism Spectrum Disorders need to know.
