Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS): Search Results

A guide for using the Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS) database.

Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS) Search Results

Refining Search Results

Use the "Refine Results" tool on the left-hand side of the results page to limit your search by publication year, document type, authors, access type, language and more. 

Image showing BIOSIS search results page with the refine results tool highlighted.

 

Finding Full-text

Full-text availability for an item is shown on the search results page, as well as in the individual item record. Click the blue "Discover Full Text" box to be taken to the full-text through a University affiliated link. If full-text is unavailable, you may request a copy of the item through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).

Image showing BIOSIS search results page with Discover Full Text options highlighted.

Other Features

  • "Analyze Results" Feature:
    • On the search results page and immediately to the right of the search box is a purple "Analyze Results" button. Click this button to sort your results into categories based on authors, publication titles, document type, and more. View results as a list or graph with this feature.
  • Manage Citations:
    • To export citations, select the checkbox of the article you are interested in, then select the citation manager you would like to export it to from the drop-down menu at the top of the search results page. You can also add a citation to your "Marked List" to export, print, save, or email them later. 
    • When viewing a full record, note the "Citation Network" side panel to the right. This section shows you how often the item has been cited, provides a link to related records, lets you create a citation alert, and more. Use these tools to find similar items to expand your research.