Find Data Sets
- 15 Open Datasets15 Resources that provide open data.
- Data.CDC.gov Data CatalogBrowse by Category, Type of data, Tags, Federated Domains
- Data.gov HealthExplore datasets, tools, and applications related to health and health care. These resources come from across the Federal Government with the goal of improving the health and lives of all Americans.
- Data 2020DATA2020 is an interactive database system developed by staff of the Division of Health Promotion Statistics at the National Center for Health Statistics, and contains the most recent monitoring data for tracking Healthy People 2010.
- Data Catalog Collaboration ProjectThe Data Catalog Collaboration Project (DCCP) helps researchers make their own data discoverable, and locate usable biomedical data that is not readily accessible elsewhere online. The DCCP is a collaboration of academic libraries working to highlight institutional biomedical research data using an open source catalog.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)provides searchable access to NCHS's and many other data sets
- NCBI Data & SoftwareDatabases and downloads from the National Center for Biotechnology Information
Databases for Data Search
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, a database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Full-text is sometimes available for free.
- Proquest Statistical Datasets This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository. Data-Planet Statistical Datasets offers powerful capabilities to compare & contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight (Statistical Universe) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Statistical Insight not only encompasses a world of statistical information using one common interface, but it takes you directly to the data you need. Instead of relying on the limited capabilities of free-text searching, which is particularly ineffective with the tabular format of statistical data, or wading through large text documents only to find it does NOT have the statistics you need, ProQuest Statistical Insight allows you to go straight to the tables, or to easily find the right publication with the right key tables.
Non-Governmental Reseources for Data & Statistics
- American's Health RankingsFor nearly 3 decades, America’s Health Rankings has provided an analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis by evaluating a historical and comprehensive set of health, environmental and socioeconomic data to determine national health benchmarks and state rankings.
- County Health Rankings - Robert Wood Johnson FoundationThe annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play. They provide a starting point for change in communities.
- Dartmought Atlas of Health CareDartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
- Kaiser Family Foundation State Health FactsChoose Category - or - Choose Location
- Kids Count Data Center - Annie E. Casy FoundationKIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families. Each year, the Foundation produces a comprehensive report — the KIDS COUNT Data Book — that assesses child well-being in the United States. The indicators featured in the Data Book are also available in the Data Center.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)provides searchable access to NCHS's and many other data sets