Data & Statistics for Medicine and Health

Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics.

available in French and Spanish

The CDC Vital Signs monthly report was launched in 2010. It includes a MMWR Early Release, a graphic fact sheet and website, a media release, and social media tools. Most of the materials are available in English and Spanish

WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.

Select an indicator for stat or national statistics or view by health area.

There are two related classifications of diseases with similar titles, and a third classification on functioning and disability. The International Classification of Diseases (ICD) is the classification used to code and classify mortality data from death certificates.

DATA2020 is an interactive database system developed by staff of the Division of Health Promotion Statistics at the National Center for Health Statistics, and contains the most recent monitoring data for tracking Healthy People 2010.

View data by broad topic, browse the data catalog or view video guides

Use this tool to report the health, economic, and mortality burden of diabetes in your state. To get started, select your state from the drop down list or the map below and then choose one of the modules.

Providing instant access to state-level health and demographic data about adults with disabilities.

Surveillance depends on the most accurate and latest data available. The links below point to interactive database systems that contain continuously updated data and provide data reports.

The National Environmental Public Health Tracking Network (Tracking Network) brings together health data and environment data from national, state, and city sources and provides supporting information to make the data easier to understand. The Tracking Network has data and information on environments and hazards, health effects, and population health.

The National Immunization Surveys (NIS) are a group of telephone surveys sponsored and conducted by CDC’s National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases (NCIRD). Since 2011, the National Immunization Surveys have used a dual frame survey design, including landline and cell phone numbers for household interviews with parents or guardians. If the parent or guardian provides consent and contact information, a questionnaire is mailed to children’s vaccination providers. Learn more…

Data are fundamental to worker safety and health research and surveillance conducted at NIOSH. They drive health and safety research priorities and recommendations produced by NIOSH. The data produced and used by NIOSH can also benefit other researchers and practitioners as well as the general public. This NIOSH Data and Statistics page has been developed to provide centralized access to NIOSH data. It can be used to find available NIOSH data and statistics and resources in a variety of forms.

This survey, sponsored by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau of the Health Resources and Services Administration, examines the physical and emotional health of children ages 0-17 years of age. Special emphasis is placed on factors that may relate to well-being of children, including medical homes, family interactions, parental health, school and after-school experiences, and safe neighborhoods. In 2011-2012, questions also asked about uninsured children from some households, to assess their parents’ awareness of, experience with, and interest in enrolling in Medicaid and the State Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP).

Select what data you want (HIV, Viral Hepatitis, STD, TB, and Social Determinants of Health) and how you want to see the data to create maps, charts, and tables, or to download data.

The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) developed the Research Data Centers (RDC) to allow researchers access to restricted data. Today, in addition to providing access to NCHS data, the RDC also hosts restricted data from a variety of groups within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

CHS Survey Measures Catalog provides an overview of questions about child and adolescent mental health, and functioning and disability in various surveys of the NCHS Data Systems. Some of the survey measures are included in both the mental health section and the functioning and disability section of the catalog.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration has partnered with the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) to host restricted data from the National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH). Federal Statistical Research Data Centers (RDCs) are protected facilities that provide secure access to a range of restricted-use microdata for statistical purposes only. SAMHSA is the most recent federal partner to work with NCHS in making NSDUH microdata available to approved researchers via these RDCs.

Sortable Stats is an interactive data set comprised of behavioral risk factors and health indicators. This site compiles data from various published CDC and federal sources into a format that allows users to view, sort, and analyze data at state/territory, regional, and national levels.

The Surveillance Resource Center provides members of the public health surveillance community organized, easy access to guidance developed by CDC and its partners for improving the practice of surveillance.

The official federal statistics on cancer incidence and deaths, produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the National Cancer Institute (NCI).

This page is a portal to the online data dissemination activities of the Division of Vital Statistics, including both interactive online data access tools and downloadable public use data files.

DC’s WISQARS™ (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources. Researchers, the media, public health professionals, and the public can use WISQARS™ data to learn more about the public health and economic burden associated with unintentional and violence-related injury in the United States.