Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Spanish Language: A Learner's Guide: Reading Skills

Readers

           

Readers offer mini-lessons in grammar and vocabulary before and after each reading and thus are a great way to improve reading skills. To find readers, browse the Library's Classic Catalog by call number in the 468.64 range.

Audio Books

                  

Freely Available Online:

Libri Vox -- Public domain books from the US that are available to download. There are many different languages available, not just Spanish. 

AlbaLearning -- This website also has the books in files you can download to read along as you listen. It also includes learning tools to help you learn Spanish. 

Latin American Magazines

          

LANIC's List of Online Magazines

Latindex's List of Online Magazines

Zona Latina's List of Online Magazines

Vanidades-- One of the most popular women's magazine in Spanish reading communities. This magazines helps women keep up with all the trends. It has a lot of pictures and is easy to read. 

Siempre Mujer -- Another women's magazine that is published in the United States and also circulates in other countries. Its mission is to inform and motivate by helping keep traditions alive while adapting to life in this country. It is easy to read, and has a lot of pictures. 

 

Reading Sources Online

123TeachMe -- Over 200 reading comprehension passages with quizzes at the end to test your knowledge with difficulty levels including novice, intermediate, advanced and superior. These difficulty levels then have their own sublevels.  

Cuentos de Andersen -- Hans Christian Andersen's stories in both English (among other languages) and Spanish side by side for easy comparison.  

Cuentos de Grimm -- The Brother's Grimm stories in both English (among other languages) and Spanish side by side for easy comparison.

Centro Virtual Cervantes -- A website dedicated for information on Iberian and Latin American culture and language. 

Finding books in the catalog:

There are many books in the library, and one could help you practice your Spanish!

  1. Search "literary fiction" as keyword
  2. Scroll down on the "Narrow Your Search" panel to find a list of many languages
  3. Select "Spanish"
  4. Chose topics or genres

Online Newspapers

                

SPAIN

El Confidencial--General information with a focus on politics and finances; its political affiliation is moderate-conservative.

Revista de Turismo, Viajes y Vacaciones-- An online magazine covering a wide range of topics, focusing the most on vacationing and traveling.  

Revista Fusion-- An online magazine covering a wide range of topics. 

Muy interesante -- National and international news given in a clear format. There is a section for interviews, and women. 

Vanidades-- A women's magazine from Spain that covers a variety of topics. 

El País -- As one of the most prestigious Spanish newspapers, it is known for its national and international political information. There will also be articles on the economy, culture and other social aspects.

20 minutos -- Widely read free newspaper in Spain, with each province publishing its own version. General information is given in a concise and clear way.

ARGENTINA

Diario Clarin -- A very influential newspaper that focuses on society, politics, national news and sports.

Infobae -- This newspaper offers two versions, one centered in South America and the other in Argentina. Social events, interesting interviews, sports and politics are covered in this newspaper. 

CHILE

La Tercera -- Newspaper that focuses on society and politics. Insightful political interviews can be found in this newspaper too. 

MEXICO

El Universal -- Broadly read newspaper, it discusses all news. The big headlines provide general ideas about all of the topics they cover.

La Jornada -- This newspaper has both national and international news, and it offers easy to read articles that have many pictures as well as high-quality videos. 

El Diario de Yucatan -- Well laid out newspaper that makes it easy to see and select what to read. It includes pieces on different topics and many articles on Mayan culture. 

COLOMBIA 

El Espectador -- Focuses on national news, and has a very neat design on its pages. All of the news is separated by topic. 

COSTA RICA

Diario Extra -- Varied newspaper that carries national and international news, though it tends to focus more on national news. 

PUERTO RICO 

El Nuevo Dia -- This newspaper has national and international news, though its top articles are local news and events. 

VENEZUELA 

Últimas Noticias -- The front page is the politics section, and you are able to tab over to other sections including one which is international news. The layout is very clean, not overwhelming and easy to read. 

Digitized Newspapers and other Internet News Gateways

                   

Latin America

Online Newspapers.com -- Thousands of newspapers that can be searched by country or region.  
UT-LANIC -- This page contains many websites highlighting news and newspapers from different Latin places that are still being up to date, even though the page is not. 

LatinNews/Latin American Newsletters -- Latin news highlights from across the world in English

Spain
Periódicos españoles digitales -- Access to many different types of digitized Spanish periodicals. 

Boletín de la Real Academia Española -- Scientific journal that covers topics in linguistics, and literary themes alongside academic news. Open access to the journal except for the past year and current year. 

Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Histórica -- Gives access to newspapers since the end of the 18th century.

Biblioteca Virtual de Patrimonio Bibliográfico -- Digital facsimiles of manuscripts and books that make up the Spanish bibliographic heritage.

Other Resources:

Zona Latina -- Has many resources, although some of the websites listed are not up to date.

Palabra Virtual-Antología de Poesia Iberoamericana -- Huge collection of works from some of the best poets from Latin American and Spain. The poems are in Spanish and some even include audio recordings. 

Newspaper Databases

Online Literature Newspapers

SPAIN

Instituto Cervantes -- Literary magazine that provides information on events related to the Spanish language and its literature. Cultural news alongside the Instituto Cervantes' schedule of meetings and courses offered is given. 

PERU 

Ciberayllu -- A collection of reviews and articles that discusses texts, works and essays about as well as written by Peruvian writers and other Spanish-speaking authors. 

MEXICO 

Literatura Mexicana -- Biannual open access publication that offers articles, texts and documents, and reviews. Its mission is to diffuse understanding of the Mexican literary culture in its distinct epochs, and it looks to create connections of intellectual exchange with the publication of works by diverse writers. 

COSTA RICA

Club de Libros -- A magazine that aims to encourage reading to the general public, it includes great interviews, book reviews, poetry, literary articles, and a lot more.