Ask a Librarian
Other Databases
Certain disciplines, journals, and document types may not be well represented in the more traditional citation counting resources. Some databases that also provide citation counts include
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA web database for research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Academic Search Ultimate in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: America: History & Life with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Communication Source in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles.
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: EconLit with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Provides citations for articles and dissertations in more than 620 journals, books, and working papers on economics, plus full text for more than 560 journals, including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Historical Abstracts with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowConsists of reviews and citations to the world's research literature in mathematics and related areas compiled from: Mathematical reviews, and mathematical publications, 1940- Current. You can also use MathSciNet via EBSCOhost.
Citation Management Tools
As you go through each database, you'll likely want some way to keep track of the different citations you find. Citation managers can help you do this.
Citation management tools allow you to:
- Collect lists of articles, books, webpages (and lots more) for use in research.
- Format and create bibliographies using a particular citation style, to export into a research document.
- Link to and store source materials.
- Insert in-text citations and bibliography entries while writing in Microsoft Word.
- Collaborate with others.
See the Citation Management Software Overview guide for more information.