Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database How-To from the BIS
Emerging Markets Information Service
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)
This resource delivers hard-to-get information on more than 80 emerging markets. It aggregates and produces unique content including full-text news articles, financial statements, company information, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information, which are derived directly from more than 13,000 local and global publications.
To find information: first select a country or multiple countries; then click on company analysis, industry analysis, or country analysis tab; and type the name within search box.
This source contains market research reports on over 700 U.S. industries. Also contains industry risk ratings, global industry research, and company research on over 8,000 U.S. public companies.
For industry information, the simplest way to use IBISWorld is to enter an industry name or NAICS code in the search box and click the magnifying glass just to the right of it.
Market Share Reporter
Market Share Reporter
Presents comparative business statistics. Each entry features data and market description, a list of producers or products along with their respective market share, and cites original sources.
Note that the link in the online catalog will direct you to the Gale Directory Library. To search Market Share Reporter, you will need to click "Market Share Reporter" in the Select Directories box in the center of the screen.
Passport Global Market Information Database
This database contains demographic, economic, and background marketing statistics for over 200 countries, as well as market and economic forecasts. Passport also contains major market reports and consumer lifestyle reports for countries from all over the globe.
To locate statistics, look under Search (in the upper left corner of the Home/Welcome page). You can generate tables of statistics on Consumer, Industrial, and Service Markets by clicking on the appropriate link. The next step requires you to select among several countries. You can also use the toolbar at the top of the page to explore by Industries, Countries, and Consumers. If you need a table about Food Shopping Habits in Croatia, this is the resource for you.
For example, to search for industry statistics, go to 'Search Statistics' section; select 'industries'; choose a industry you are interested in; click go .