LibGuides: Art &amp; Design: Graphic Design: Finding Library Materials

Finding Library Materials

In this section of the guide, you'll find some basic information about finding books, journals, and articles available to you through the Library. A selection of related guides, databases, and subject headings are also shared within to serve as convenient starting points. As always, if you have any questions, please don't hesitate to Ask A Librarian!

Suggested Databases

The University Library provides students with access to over a thousand databases, which means it can be daunting to figure out which ones are the best to use. Listed below are a few best bets for research related to graphic design. If you want to explore more databases, you can search through all of the Art and Architecture databases on the library website.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window Based on a merger of databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This database features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Alternate Access Link
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards. Also incorporates book records, including those drawn from the collections of the Tate Library and the Bibliothèque Dominique Bozo, Musée LAM. Coverage: 1974 - current
Design Abstracts Retrospective This link opens in a new window Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR) is a new ongoing abstracting and indexing service that aims to cover many of the most important design and applied arts journals and annuals published during the twentieth century. Titles in the initial releases have been selected because of their outstanding international coverage and breadth of scope. DAR covers articles on all design, from architecture to embroidery. When complete it will cover over 70 titles.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window Design and applied arts index (DAAI) is the leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. An indispensable tool for students, researchers, and practitioners worldwide, DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window Created as part of the ABC-CLIO online resource, this Web site is a database that invites visitors to explore a variety of topics related to American pop culture. Browse through information on American pop culture by decade and more. In addition, learn about the history of music, fashion and entertainment in the United States.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given. Searches can be conducted across the full text of all journals in the database.

How Do I Find a Book at U of I?

The books you are looking for may be located in a variety of locations, including the Ricker Art and Architecture Library as well as the Main Stacks and many other libraries on campus. Remember, books can be requested through the Library Catalog and delivered to any library on campus. This process usually take a couple of days. You'll be notified via email when the book is available.

The best way to find books is to search the Library Catalog. In order to find the books in the library, you need to have the call number and location. If you're logged into your library account, you can search for this information through the Library Catalog.

I-Share

If you can't find something in our library catalog, search the I-Share catalog to see if any other college libraries in Illinois have the item available. I-Share is a quick and easy way to borrow books from nearby libraries.

The I-Share catalog is connected to the Library Catalog and can be searched using Quick Search or Advanced Search. For more help Ask a Librarian.

How Do I Find Journals?

The best way to find journals available at UIUC is to search in the catalog. You can locate journals by searching by title or by selecting a subject to narrow down your search. If you are searching by title, once you have located the journal, you will be shown the physical or digital location of that journal. Feel free to visit the Reference Room at Ricker Library to browse our journal and magazine collection to find inspiration.

Below are just a few journals available at UIUC that may be useful for the research or practice of graphic design.

Design annual (New York, N.Y.) The international annual on design and illustration.
Eye (London, England : 1990) Eye, the international review of graphic design, is a printed magazine about graphic design and visual culture

Related Guides

While we did our best to capture as much information as we could, there is a lot that we were unable to cover. Check out some of these LibGuides that cover similar topics to have a wider range of information about Graphic Design and research.