Ricker Library of Art and Architecture Special Collections
Carlos Mérida Trajes Regionales Mexicanos Folio
Mérida, Carlos, and Salvador. Echeverría. Carlos Mérida Trajes Regionales Mexicanos Folio. México, D.F: Editorial Atlante, S.A., 1945.
Les Mots En Liberté Futuristes
Marinetti, F. T. Les mots en liberté futuristes. Milano: Edizioni futuriste di “Poesia,” 1919.
Imperfection booklets.
Imperfection Booklets. Second edition. Taipei: O.Oo Risograph & Design Room, 2017.
Hommage [À Werkman].
Hommage [à Werkman]. Stuttgart: Auslieferung: Buchhandlung F. Eggert, 1957.
Interaction of Color.
Albers, Josef. Interaction of Color. New Haven ; Yale University Press, 1963.
Otra vía de escape
Barrera, Alfonso. Otra vía de escape. Oaxaca, Mexico: Polvoh Press, 2019.
La Fin Du Monde, Filmée Par L’ange N.-D. : Roman
Cendrars, Blaise. La Fin Du Monde, Filmée Par L’ange N.-D. : Roman /. Paris : Éditions de la Sirène, 1919.
Blueprint for Counter Education. [1st ed.].
Stein, Maurice Robert. Blueprint for Counter Education. [1st ed.]. Garden City, N.Y. : Doubleday, 1970.
Visual Design in Action : Principles, Purposes
Sutnar, Ladislav. Visual Design in Action : Principles, Purposes. New York: [Hastings House], 1961.
Poemotion
Kurashima, Takahiro. Poemotion. Zurich: Lars Müller Publishers, 2019.
Ricker Library of Art and Architecture
Ricker Library of Art and Architecture has special collections located in the Vault, including artists' books, folios, facsimiles of sketchbooks, catalogues raisonnés, other rare and more unique materials. These materials can be viewed in the the Library Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm without any prior appointment, but you are more than welcome to schedule an appointment by contacting rickerlibrary@library.illinois.edu.
The items in the section above are just a few examples of the type of material featured in the Ricker Vault and closed stacks collections. They can be used as inspiration for color, typography, and overall design of any graphic design project.
To learn more about what is in our collection, you can look at the Research section of the Ricker website. To learn more about the closed stacks collection, Ricker has a Research Guide to help patrons navigate the material.
Rare Books and Manuscripts Library
The Rare Book & Manuscript Library (RBML) of the University of Illinois at Urbana- Champaign is one of the largest repositories for rare books and manuscripts in the United States. Within their collection they have have a wealth of materials related to art and design as well as digital collections such as the examples below.
Materials must be requested prior to visiting RBML. More details about using RBML are available on their website.
-
John Starr Stewart Ex Libris CollectionThe John Starr Stewart Ex Libris Collection comprises some 1500 plates, each mounted on an individual card. The collection was made between 1903-1906 and is rich in contemporary bookplates, many in the art nouveau style, although older plates are also included. While mid-Western and other American plates predominate, a substantial number of English and continental plates are present.
-
Amos Kennedy CollectionThe Amos Paul Kennedy, Jr. Collection in the Rare Book & Manuscript Library contains artists' books, postcards, and posters. Kennedy is a letterpress printer, papermaker, book artist, and teacher who currently lives and works in York, Alabama. Through his strong graphics and bold typography, Kennedy addresses passionately issues of race, freedom, and equality, often incorporating proverbs and tales of the Kuba and Yoruba people of Africa, as well as the work of African-American poets such as Paul Laurence Dunbar.