Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Advanced Research at the Library

Learn how the professionals search for articles, books, and other scholarly works through citation chasing and optimal keyword searching. This guide accompanies the Savvy Researcher workshop, "Introduction to Research at the Library Level II."

About Web of Science

Web of Science is a scientific citation indexing service by Thomson Reuters that allows access to multiple databases covering cross-disciplinary research in the sciences and humanities. This database offers the Cited Reference Search, which allows users to search for articles that have cited a previously published work (i.e. "forward" citation chasing).

Citation Chasing in Web of Science

Forward

  1. Scroll down to the icons on the Library homepage. Click on the middle icon, "Databases by Subject & A-Z" (it is an orange computer logo with 'A-Z' on its screen).
    • This is the list of all the Library databases. Since it is organized alphabetically by default, "Academic Search Ultimate" should be the fifth result. It is a broad, multidisciplinary database and a great place to start your research. Click on the title to enter the database.
  2. Click on the arrow next to "Basic Search" and choose "Cited Reference Search" from the dropdown menu.
  3. Enter information about your article into the search boxes. In the example, we will search for an article published in Journal of Molecular Biology in 1990 by author SF Altschul.
  4. Choose the result that matches your citation information. In this case, we know we are looking for an article by Altschul in volume 215 of Journal of Molecular Biology, published in 1990. Place a check mark next to the correct article, and click "Finish Search."

The final result is a list of articles that have cited the article.

Backward

  1. Scroll down to the icons on the Library homepage. Click on the middle icon, "Databases by Subject & A-Z" (it is an orange computer logo with 'A-Z' on its screen).
    • This is the list of all the Library databases. Since it is organized alphabetically by default, "Academic Search Ultimate" should be the fifth result. It is a broad, multidisciplinary database and a great place to start your research. Click on the title to enter the database.
  2. Enter information about your article into the search boxes underneath 'Basic Search'. In this example we will search for the article, " "Basic Local Alignment Search Tool," by author SF Altschul. Enter the article title in the first search bar and change the drop-down menu from 'Topic' to 'Title.' Click on 'Add another field' and enter the author name, "Altschul SF," into the second search bar. Change the second drop-down menu from 'Topic' to 'Author' and click "Search."
  3. Check the results to be sure it has given you the correct article. Click on the 'Discover full-text' button to access the full-text version of the article. Clicking this button will prompt you to log in with your NetID and password, if you have not already, and will also prompt a 'Discover Full-Text Linking' page. At this page, underneath 'Online Full Text' you will see a red 'Go' button after the text indicating that the full-text is available at Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals. Click on the red 'Go' button to access the full-text in ScienceDirect.
  4. Once you have accessed the item record for the full-text at ScienceDirect, scroll towards the bottom of the record until you see the References section. There you will be able to see the articles that the author of "Basic Local Alignment Search Tool" cited in the writing of this article.