LibGuides: Information Sciences 503: History of Children's Literature--Media Search and Use Guide: Notable Digital Collections

Guides to More Digital Collections

The following guides provide more information about digital collections you may want to browse besides those listed here:

Finding Images and Video
by Teaching, Learning, and Academic Support Library Last Updated Mar 19, 2024 695 views this year

These collections are likely to be of interest for the history of children's literature and may provide useful media for integration into Scalar. If you find something useful, be sure to look for license information and collect any details you need for giving credit or obtaining permission.

General Collections

These collections may all have images or other media, or simply pdfs or other full text of historical works you want to use.

Arkyves This link opens in a new window
Artstor This link opens in a new window

Europeana

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window

Children's Literature Collections

These resources focus on children's literature specifically.

Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature
Digitized collections from the University of Florida.
Historical Children's Literature Collections
Provided by the University of Washington, this “database chronicles by example the history of educational practice and reading, and the changing perceptions of gender, race and class and the role of religion in teaching. Both European and American books from the 18th to the 20th c. are represented in this collection.”
Children's Literature from the Library of Congress Rare Book & Special Collections Reading Room
History of Children's Literature: A Sampling
U.S. and English covers and illustrations from the 15th to the 20th century from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Digital Collections.
International Children's Digital Library
Organized for navigation for kids more than researchers, this nonetheless has extensive digitized primary resources.
Just Teach One: Early African American Print
From the American Antiquarian Society
Literature for Children
Provided by the State University Libraries of Florida and funded by NEH, this collection includes U.S. and U.K. works primarily between 1850-1950.

Children's Literature and Culture This link opens in a new window
This database is focused on children's literature and related items from the 19th and early 20th centuries. It includes over 8,000 digitized items, with materials like mass-produced chapbooks, illustrated "book-beautifuls", other rare books, games, artwork, and other ephemera. Focus is primarily on American culture, though some European publishers are included as well.

Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library

Email Me

Contact:

SSHEL (Room 101)
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801

General Telephone: (217) 333-2305 Information Services Desk Telephone: (217) 244-1864

Subjects: Anthropology, Children’s Literature, Economics, Education, ESL, Gender & Women’s Studies, Geography, Health & Medicine, Labor & Employment Relations, Political Science, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology, Speech & Hearing Science, Sports & Kinesiology