Non-Profits
Connects donors and grantmakers to non-profit organizations. Search for organizations to see program, financial, and operations information for non-profit organizations.
Once you can view your search results, you can limit your search by selecting Geography, Organization, Financials (on left-hand side of the screen).
When you select an organization, you will find a summary, programs & results, financials, and operations.
For more information: http://help.guidestar.org/en/collections/1020394-how-to-use-guidestar-pro
Consists of three files corresponding to: Vol. 1 of Encyclopedia of associations; Encyclopedia of associations. International organizations; and: Encyclopedia of associations. Regional, state, and local organizations.
When you arrive at the homepage, scroll down until you see the Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations, Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S., and Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations. 
You can search for an organization or topic in the search box under the Encyclopedia.
You can search within the series or you can select an edition.
Provided by Nexis Uni, which features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
Description from the website: "Our flagship publication, launched in April 1987, reaches more than 36,000 executives of the nonprofit community in print and digital format, ranging from C-Suite executives to directors of fundraising, marketing, social media, and human resources departments to accounting and other financial management decision-makers. Nonprofit sector influencers on all levels turn to The NPT for news, information, and insight that consistently helps them achieve their professional goals."
Provides comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Indexing coverage begins June 1983; abstracts are included beginning spring 1994; full text of some journals is available beginning Jan. 1996. Indexing and abstracting coverage is identical to that of Education index and Education abstracts.
At the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, there are more than 800 registered student organizations (RSOs) and many international RSOs are active on campus. Find a searchable list of RSOs at this link.
Community Foundation of Central Illinois
"Since its inception in 1972, the Community Foundation’s assets have grown from $1,300 to nearly $27 million. This growth in well-managed" endowed funds and other assets, along with administering grant dollars on behalf of the Marajen Stevick Foundation and in cooperation with the Lumpkin Foundation, has enabled us to make $1 million distributions annually for several years to nonprofit organizations in east central Illinois." Grant application guidelines can be found here.
Champaign Public Library hosted a Go-to-Tips for Getting Grants by Community Foundation of Central Illinois. The Youtube of the event is found here. https://youtu.be/3cmwbX9IC0Q
Tax Exempt Organization Search
The online search tool allows you to search for an organization's tax exempt status and filings in the following data bases: Form 990 Series Returns. Form 990-N (e-Postcard), Pub. 78 Data, Automatic Revocation of Exemption List and Determination Letters. You can check an organization's eligibility to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions and review information about the organization's tax-exempt status and filings.
Need More Help?
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail bis@library.illinois.edu.
