Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

CABI: CAB Abstracts & Global Health: Basic Search

A guide for using the CABI: CAB Abstracts & Global Health database.

Basic Search

Image showing CAB Abstracts' Basic Search box.Click to enlarge image

CABI: CAB Abstracts & Global Health defaults to a basic search. Search by keyword in fields such as topic, document title, author, publication titles, year published, language, and more. You may also add another row of search terms, or add a date range to search within. Use Boolean operators, proximity operators, and truncation/wildcards to narrow your search. Like other Web of Science databases, CABI searches the bibliographic record, not the full text of articles. 

Search Tips

  • Choose specific terms that are closely related to your research topic, including terms you might use when discussing your topic with a colleague such as jargon, synonyms, and abbreviations.
  • CABI searches are not case sensitive.
  • CABI automatically finds variant spellings and forms of a word.
  • Use quotation marks around terms to search for an exact phrase (e.g. "child development").
  • Use Boolean operators to limit, broaden, or eliminate terms from your search: 
    • AND limits search results, finding articles with both terms
    • OR broadens results, finding articles with either term
    • NOT eliminates terms from the results, finding articles with one term but not the other
  • Use proximity operators to limit your results to records that have designated search terms within a specified number of words of each other:
    • NEAR/# finds records where the search terms are within # number of words of each other. NEAR without /# defaults to a 15 word maximum
    • SAME is only used in Address searches, and restricts search results to terms that are located within the same address in a record.
  • Use truncation and wildcards to broaden your search: 
    • Add an asterisk (*) to replace multiple characters in a word (eg. biol* returns biology, biologist)
    • Add a question mark (?) to replace a single character (e.g. disrupt?rs for disrupters and disruptors)
    • Add a dollar sign ($) to replace one or zero characters (eg. odo$r for odor and odour)
  • Search for hyphenated phrases both with and without the hyphen to help find records that might contain both versions of the term.