LibGuides: History 200D: Family in History: Other Source Collections

Digital Collections

Most digital collections are organized thematically. Increasingly though, digital collections that appear to be organized thematically are actually digitized archival collections, and you'll find that it's helpful to know this before you begin exploring the collection, because with archival collections it's especially important to learn how the documents are organized before you begin using them.

Few digital collections have yet been created specifically around the theme of families. To find sources about families in digital collections, you'll need to do some creative thinking: what sorts of collections might contain documents related to your topic? What kinds of people or organizations might have created documents about your topic? Collections about social services and social groups will often will often include sources that document family life throughout history.

Medieval Family Life
Five major letter collections from 15th century England.
Family Life in England and America, 1690-1820
Almost 2,000 pages of both published and unpublished sources.

Gender

Everyday Life and Women in America, 1800-1920
Books, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides. Emphasis on American women's social, cultural, and popular history. Digitized from the collections of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University Library and the New York Public Library. Collection aims to showcase the role of religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, with a concentration on conduct of life and domestic management literature. Collection covers regional, urban, and rural settings.
The Gerritsen Collection of Women's History, 1543-1945
Roughly 4,500 monographs and pamphlets, and more than 400 periodicals documenting women's history around the world. Books have both Library of Congress Subject Headings, and Gerritsen Subject Terms. Somewhat more than half of the material in the collection is in English, and the remainder is in German, French, and other European languages.
History of Women
1799-1920. 8,500 books, 2,000 pamphlets, 117 periodical titles, 80,000 manuscript pages, and 800 photos. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
Iowa Women's Archives Digital Collections
Temporarily unavailable. Over 16,000 diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, oral histories, photographs, and ephemera. Includes subject indexes. See also the Rural Women Collection (diaries, letters, speeches, photographs, memoirs, writings, scrapbooks, club records and other items of 19th and 20th century farm women) and the Evelyn Birkby Collection (archive of Evelyn Birkby, who wrote a newspaper column on homemaking and, later, hosted a radio show where she became famous as the "radio homemaker") collections.
LGBT Studies in Video
Documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films on LGBT history, gay culture, gay subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, and global comparative experiences.
LGBT Thought and Culture
Books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Colonial period to 1950. Letters from 1,325 women. Letters have been transcribed, rather than reproduced as digital facsimiles, and they are extensively indexed, as well as searchable by keyword. Biographical information is provided for each author, as well as synopses of many of the source documents, reprinted from Joyce Goodfriend’s 1987 bibliography, The Published Diaries and Letters of American Women. Based on six additional bibliographies: The Published Diaries and Letters of American Women by Joyce Goodfriend; American Diaries: An Annotated Bibliography of Published American Diaries and Journals by Laura Arksey, Nancy Pries, and Marcia Reed; Women's Diaries, Journals, and Letters by Cheryl Cline; American Diaries in Manuscript, 1580-1954; Canadian Diaries and Autobiographies by William Matthews; And So to Bed: A Bibliography of Diaries Published in English; and New England Diaries, 1602-1800: A Descriptive Catalogue of Diaries, Orderly Books and Sea Journals.
Perdita Manuscripts
Over 230 manuscripts, authored by women, that document life in Early Modern England.
Women's Christian Temperance Union of Iowa
Digitized collection of proceedings. Keyword searchable, no subject index.
Women and Transnational Networks
Action Sociale De La Femme Et Le Livre Francaise, 1936-1940; the Suffragette and Britannia: Official Organ of the Women's Party; the Journal of the American National Women’s Trade Union League; the Reply, 1913-1915; the Suffragist, 1913-1921; Votes for Women, 1907-1918; the Woman Worker, 1908-1910; Woodull and Claflin's Weekly, 1870-1876; Our Corner, 1883-1888; British birth control material at the British Library of Political and Economic Sciences; the diaries of Elizabeth Fry, 1797-1845; 8,500 books, 2,000 pamphlets, 117 periodical titles, 80,000 manuscript pages, and 800 photographs from the History of Women microfilm collection; the Mary Braddon archive; the Myrtilla Miner papers; the papers of Carrie Chapman Catt; the papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton; and 18th and 19th century Quaker women's diaries. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820
A variety of document types organized around the following thematic clusters: Ottoman and post-Ottoman Empires in the Eastern Mediterranean, 1860-2015; French Empire in North Africa, 1935-2005; Italians Consider the International problem of Trafficking in Women, 1928-1936; Indigenous Women and Anti-Imperialist Activism in South Africa, 1929-1960; Anti-Imperialist Activism of Indonesian Women, 1951-1965; Filipino Women and American Empire, 1904-2004; Anti-Imperialist Writings of Cuban Feminists, 1896-1985; Women Medical Missionaries in China, 1894-1991; United States Women in the Panama Canal Zone, 1907-1975; American Women missionaries in India, 1910-1953; African American Women Shape Political Culture in South Africa, 1928-1969; Native Women Oppose Colonialism in Guatemala, 1960-1996; Moravian Missionary Women Interact with Cherokee Women before Removal, 1805-1835; and Women’s Global Networks, 1883-2007.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Books, brochures, audio recordings, cartoons, diaries, court reports, interviews, letters, speeches, videos, and more. Produced by historians Kathryn Kish Sklar and Thomas Dublin. It includes an online journal and more than 1,600 primary source documents and several hundred images. Also included are a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, and a series of subject-based teaching strategies. The database is searchable by movements, authors, sources, a controlled vocabulary of subject terms, and other parameters.
Women Working, 1800-1930
Over 3,100 books, pamphlets, magazines, trade catalogs, diaries, memoirs, and institutional archives, as well as 1,400 photographs, all from Harvard University's library and museum collections, documenting women's work in the United States.

Children

Historic Iowa Children's Diaries
11 diaries digitized in full color. No subject index. Text not keyword searchable because the diaries are original manuscripts. No usable subject index.
Learning and Leisure: A Selection of Children's Literature from the British Library
1685-1921. 266 books. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
Literature for Children Collection
Full color reproductions of American (and some British) children's literature published between 1850 and 1950. From the collections of the University of Florida. Keyword searchable. No subject index.
Mildred Wirt Benson Collection
Digitized archive of the woman who ghost authored the original Nancy Drew novels. Keyword searchable. No usable subject index.
National Child Labor Committee Collection
Over 5,000 photographs documenting the lives of American children, taken between 1908 and 1924. Includes subject index.

African Americans

African American Communities
Newspapers, periodicals, oral histories, organizational records, personal papers, pamphlets, and ephemera that document the history of African American communities in Chicago, St. Louis, Atlanta, New York, North Carolina. Highlights of the collection include the Chicago Urban League records (1917-1985), the Town of Pullman records (1876-1919), the Lea Demarest Taylor papers on housing and race relations, 1893-1966, the Urban League of St. Louis records, and an extensive oral history collection. Collection is organized around five broad themes: Desegregation, Urban renewal and housing problems, Civil rights activities and protests, Race relations and community integration, and African American culture.
African American Women in Iowa
Photographs, news clippings, pamphlets, scrapbooks, directories, and newsletters, ca. 1924-1970
Black Abolitionist Papers
1830-1865. Approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to 37 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including East St. Louis Riot of 1917; Martin Luther King Jr. FBI Files, Parts I and II; Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration, 1916-1929; Several series of records on civil rights during the Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Carter, and Bush administrations; and more.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part I
- This link opens in a new window
Issued in modules. 36 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including the Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, the Bayard Rustin Papers, the Mary McLeod Bethune Papers, the Papers of A. Philip Randolph, the Records of the American Committee on Africa, the Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, the Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, the Claude A. Barnett Papers, and more.
Black Studies in Video
Documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage
Black Thought and Culture
Colonial times to the present. Non-fiction works, including interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, books, pamphlets, and letters, with brief, biographical entries for all authors. Some of the documents were previously-unpublished. Supports browsing by date, event, and other subjects.
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project
Over 2,300 personal narratives about slavery as well as 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. Also available from the University of Virginia as American Slave Narratives.
Freedman's Bank Records, 1865-1871
Registers of signatures of depositors in branches of the Freedman's Savings and Trust Company. The Freedman's Saving and Trust Company, which was established by Congress for the benefit of freed slaves. Records include personal information of depositors, including the name of depositor, the date of application/deposit, the name of the depositor's employer, the name of plantation, the depositor's age, the depositor's height, the depositor's complexion, the name of the depositor's father and/or mother, marital status, place of birth, place of residence, occupation, names of depositor's children, and names of depositor's siblings. Part of HeritageQuest.
History Makers
Filmed, oral history interviews of contemporary African Americans. Subscription canceled.
Morris Family Papers Digital Collection
Scrapbooks, papers and photographs of the family of James Morris, Sr., James B. Morris, Jr., and Arlene J. Roberts Morris.
Papers of the NAACP
The papers of the NAACP held by the Library of Congress. Previously available on microfilm, the digitized version comprises six modules: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files (Parts 1, 2, 14, 16, 17, and 21 of the microfilm set); Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files (Parts 12, 19, 25, 26, 27, and 29 of the microfilm set); Special Subjects (Parts 11, 18, 24, 28, and 30 of the microfilm set); The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces (Parts 3, 4, 5, 9, and 13 of the microfilm set); The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Legal Department Files (Parts 22 and 23 of the microfilm set); and The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses (Parts 6, 7, 8, 10, 15, and 20 of the microfilm set). Part of ProQuest History Vault.
Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice, 1490-2007
Manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, and maps. Emphasis on the Atlantic world, but includes coverage of Middle East, Asia, and the Pacific. Documents all aspects of slave trade and the slave experience.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Trans-National Archive
Books, periodicals, manuscripts, court records, and reference works documenting world slavery and the slave trade from the 16th century through the 19th.
Voices from the Days of Slavery, 1932-1975
Almost 7 hours of audio recorded oral histories by former slaves.
Working Lives Oral History Project
Oral histories, with audio recordings and transcripts, or working African Americans in Birmingham, Alabama prior to World War II.

Other Social Groups

American Indian Histories and Cultures
Digitized from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection, American Indian Histories and Cultures contains both published and unpublished primary sources that document the American Indian experience from first contact with Europeans through the mid-20th century.
Cope Evans Family Papers
Digitized correspondence of two Germantown, Pennsylvania Quaker families, ca. 1732-1911.
Early Encounters in North America, 1543-1850: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Personal accounts from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. Includes multiple indexes for exploring the collection in different ways. Includes a complete, transcribed edition of the Jesuit Relations.
Holy Rosary Mission / Red Cloud Indian School
Photographs, ca. 1860s-2000s. Browse by broad subject (e.g. "Families") or time period.
Protestant Children and Families
Articles and advertising images of Protestant American families--a subset of the Duke University collection Ad*Access.
Jewish Archives Collection
Personal papers, correspondence, organizational and business records, diaries, oral histories, photographs and films that document the lives of early Jewish families in the state of Washington.
Jewish Life in America, 1654-1954
Letters, scrapbooks, autobiographies, notebooks and other materials from 28 digitized archival collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York.
Mujeres Latinas Digital Collection
Oral histories, clippings, postcards, and photographs that document the lives of Iowa Latinas and their families.
Pioneer Lives
Letters, diaries, and photographs documenting the lives of Iowa’s first white settlers.
Swiss Settlers in Southwest Illinois
Translations into English of early Swiss settler memoirs.
Washington State Society and Culture Collection
Images from the Western United States and the Pacific Northwest region. Topics include women's issues, labor, government, ethnic groups, utopian colonies, social and leisure activities, and Japanese internment camps. Ca. late 1800s to 1950s.

Role of Government

LLMC (Law Library Microform Consortium) Digital Library
Historical record of statutory, administrative, and case law for U.S. federal government, states, and territories.
Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, 1600-1970
Legal codes, statutes, regulations, and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and other European countries.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
Works on American and British law.
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1926
Published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests and more.
Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926
Unofficially published accounts of trials; official trial documents, briefs and arguments; and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings and arbitrations that document Anglo-American trials, with coverage of the British Empire. Digitized from the collections at Harvard University, Yale University, and the Bar of the City of New York.
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
Almost 150,000 Supreme Court cases are featured, the majority consisting of those for which the Court did not give a full opinion. Digitized from the holdings of the Jenkins Memorial Law Library, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and the the Library of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York.
United States Congressional Record and Its Predecessors Permanent Digital Collection, 1789-present
In ProQuest Congressional (for best results, choose the "Congressional Record Only" search tab). The Congressional Record, which began publication in 1873, is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Its predecessors were the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873). The Hein Online Congressional Documents Library has a slightly more-extensive collection: the Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1789), the Annals of the Congress of the United States (1789-1824), the Register of Debates in Congress (1825-1837), the Congressional Globe (1833-1873), the Congressional Record (1873-present), and the Congressional Record Daily (1980-present, updated daily). Part of ProQuest Congressional: navigate to "Advanced Search" and select the file "Congressional Record".
United States Congressional Research
Part of ProQuest Congressional. Combines two separate files: CRS Reports, 1916-present; and Committee Prints, 1830-present. CRS Reports are produced by the Congressional Research Service, an official arm of the United States Congress, in response to requests from Congress. Committee Prints are studies and reports produced for specific Congressional committees. Both CRS Reports and Committee Prints are used to support Congressmen and Congresswomen in their legislative work. Part of ProQuest Congressional. Navigate to "Advanced Search" and select file "CRS Reports".
United States Congressional Serial Set
A collection of Congressional "Reports" and "Documents". A Congressional Report is an official report to the House of Representatives or the Senate, issued by a House or Senate committee, usually related to legislation about to be considered by Congress. Congressional Documents, on the other hand, are typically reports to Congress by Executive Branch departments, but can also include documents received by Congress from other sources. Congress began publishing the Serial Set in 1817. The predecessor to the Serial Set was the National State Papers of the United States, also known as the American State Papers. The American State Papers cover the years 1789-1817, and then were published alongside the Serial Set until 1838. The Serial Set and the American State Papers are also available through ProQuest Congressional. ProQuest Congressional's version of the Serial Set includes the most recent volumes, whereas the version linked above (Readex) ends with the volumes for the 96th Congress in 1980.
more...less...
To access the Serial Set in ProQuest Congressional, select the "House and Senate Documents/Reports" file in the Advanced Search Content selection box. (Last checked 4/9/2021)

Role of Religion

Islamic Family Law
No longer updated. surveys of law by region, as well as legal profiles for individual countries. This site contains a note that it was current as of 2002, when funding for the project ended.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Ceased. A collection of reference works from Oxford University Press, including: Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Oxford Handbook of Islam and Politics, The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture, The Oxford History of Islam, What Everyone Needs to Know About Islam, Teaching Islam, Makers of Contemporary Islam, the Qur'an translated by M.A.S. Abdel Haleem', The Koran Interpreted, and Hanna Kassis' Concordance of the Qur'an.
Women Living Under Muslim Laws
Sponsored by the WLUML Network and provides information by and about women living under Muslim laws. WLULM is an advocacy organization seeking to increase women's autonomy by supporting their struggles and linking them with feminist and progressive groups at large. Some of the group's publications are available as downloads from the site. It also provides news updates culled from a wide range of foreign and international sources.

Other Digital Collections

Ad*Access
1911-1955. Advertisements from the United States and Canada covering five categories: Beauty and Hygiene; Radio; Television; Transportation; and World War II propaganda. Advertisements are drawn from the J. Walter Thompson archives at Duke University Library.
more...less...
See also the digital collection: J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America.
AdViews
Thousands of television commercials from the firm D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B), ca. 1950s-1980s.
American History, 1493-1945
Documents from the Gilder Lehrman Collection at the Gilder Lehrman Institute for American History. Record series digitized include the Henry Knox Papers; the Livingston Family Papers; hundreds of record series documenting the years 1493-1859; hundreds more documenting the years 1860-1945; a collection titled "Papers and Images of the American Civil War"; and a selection of Civil War era newspapers and periodicals. Inludes subject indexes. Note: the Henry Knox papers in this collection do not duplicate the papers in the microfilm collection, which was created from the papers at the Massachusetts Historical Society, not the Gilder Lehrman Institute. Being released in modules. Modules now available: Module I Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859; and Module II Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945.
American History in Video
Newsreels (commercial and governmental), archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentary films. Includes global coverage of the 20th century, though from an American perspective. Videos were sourced from the Works Progress Administration, the Black Panther Party Library, the Library of Congress, United Newsreel, Universal Newsreel, Chronoscope, United States Information Agency, National Archives and Records Administration, and more.
American Life Histories: Manuscripts from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1940
Almost 3,000 oral histories, transcribed as part of the Folklore Project of the Federal Writers’ Project.
The American West: Sources from the Graff Collection at the Newberry Library
Tavel narratives, manuscripts, personal papers, printed books, maps, city directories, store catalogs, newspapers, company records, and ephemera (e.g. trade cards, posters, photos, claim certificates, city prospectuses, and more) that document the American west in its frontier period.
Readex AllSearch
Search multiple sub-collections from a single interface: Early American Imprints, series I (1639-1800) and Series II (1801-1819), Afro-American Imprints, the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980), and the American State Papers (1789-1838). Also includes America's Historical Newspapers and African American Periodicals. Search by keyword or subject term.
more...less...
Formerly called Archive of Americana, the collection now includes non-Americana as well.
Emergence of Advertising in America, 1850-1920
Over 3,300 advertisements digitized from the collections of Duke University Library.
Farm Security Administration Photo-Archive
Over 175,000 photographs from the golden age of American documentary photography. These pictures were taken as part of the Farm Security Administration's attempt to document the real life impact of the Great Depression and Dust Bowl. Includes the work of Walker Evans, Dorothea Lange, Marion Post Wolcott, Ben Shahn, Theodor Jung, and Arthur Rothstein. For a different way to explore this collection, see Yale University's Photogrammar.
History of Social Welfare Digital Collection
No longer available. Wide range of digitized sources (manuscripts, narratives, reports, letters, photographs, prints, paintings, audio and video clips) that document the history of social welfare in the United States.
more...less...
From Cornell University Library.
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965
The archives of market research expert Ernest Dichter, along with records from the consulting firms for which he worked. Collection includes Dichter's reports, business correspondence, notes, pilot studies, proposals, and examples of advertisements based on his research. Browse the collection by industry type, or perform keyword searches.
more...less...
This collection was formerly called "American Consumer Culture".
Meet the Press Video Archive
All extant episodes from 1949 through 2013.
National Museum of American History Digital Collection
Realia, prints, photographs, and ephemera. Dozens of subcollections, including Advertising; Agriculture; Clothing & Accessories; Coins, Currency, & Medals; Communications; Computers & Business Machines; Cultures & Communities; Domestic Furnishings; Energy & Power, Engineering, Building, and Architecture; Family & Social Life; Food; Government, Politics, & Reform; Health & Medicine; Industry & Manufacturing; Measuring & Mapping; Military; Popular Entertainment; Religion; Science & Mathematics; Sports & Leisure; Transportation; and Work.
Newlyweds and their Baby
A newspaper comic strip about the American family, ca. 1907.
Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
Books, pamphlets, broadsides, advertisements, trade cards, catalogs, business records, posters, and ephemera documenting the 19th century trade in popular medical remedies. Sources taken from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Browse the collections by broad thematic areas--General Cures, Health and Hygiene, Sexual Health, Women's Health, Children's Health, Surgery and General Practice, Dentistry, Production and Trade, Satire and Parody, Education and Research, Physiology, Medical Devices, Homeopathy, and Botanic Medicine--or perform keyword searches. No subject index.
Prairie Settlement: Nebraska Photographs and Family Letters: Ca. 1862-1912
Includes subject index.
ProQuest Civil War Era
166 pamphlets, speeches, reports, legal opinions, and convention proceedings from the Salmon P. Chase & John P. Hale Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets Collections; 1,785 pamphlets from the Civil War Pamphlet Collection; and nine major newspapers: Daily Dispatch (Richmond, Va., 1852-1865), Charleston Mercury (Charleston, SC, 1840-1865), Columbus Gazette (Columbus, Ohio, 1856-1865), Daily Picayune (New Orleans, La., 1840-1865), Boston Herald (Boston, MA, 1848-1865), New York Herald (New York, NY, 1840-1865), Louisville Daily Journal (Louisville, Ky., 1840-1865), Memphis Daily Appeal (Memphis, Tenn., 1847-1865), and Ohio State Journal (Columbus, Ohio, 1840-1853).
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports
1844-current. Over 800 companies, mostly American.
more...less...
Corporate annual reports for U.S. companies from 1884 to the present. Key data (financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies) are indexed in the citation and can be searched. Reports can be browsed by company name, related names industry or date.
Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest: Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
Emphasis on protest and social change. Archival material from the Browne Popular Culture Library (Bowling Green State University), the Bancroft Library (University of California, Berkeley), the British National Archives, the University of Sussex Library, and the Rock Source Archive.
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960-1974
Diaries, letters, autobiographies, memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, alternative press periodicals, and scholarly commentary.
Szathmary Recipe Pamphlet Digital Collection
Over 100 promotional recipe pamphlets, which were essentially advertisements published by appliance manufacturers, food producers, and trade associations. Emphasis on the period from 1880–1930. Significance of the collection is for the documentation it provides on the emergence of the modern American diet.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
CANCELED. 1968 to the present. Identifies network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN. Some segments are available for viewing online.

Microform Collections

Microform collections tend to be one of two kinds: either thematic, or archival. Thematic microform collections are organized around a central theme, like women's history, American Indian history, history of madness, history of the American west, and so forth. Thematic collections will tend to be a mixture of published and unpublished sources, with greater emphasis on published sources. Archival microform collections are organized around provenance, which is to say the person or organization from which the documents came. In the case of archival microform collections, the person or organization from which the documents came is also very often the person or organization that produced the documents.

Women

American Women's Diaries. Southern Women
Call Number: FILM 305.40975 AM35
37 manuscript diaries on 34 reels.
American Women's Diaries. Western Women
Call Number: FILM 305.40978 AM35
35 reels
American Women's Diaries. New England Women
Call Number: FILM 305.40974 AM351983
8 diaries on 21 reels.
Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries, Parts 4-6
Call Number: FILM 305.40975 So882
ISBN: 1556552947
Guide includes a subject index.
Herstory : Microfilm Edition of the International Women's History Periodical Archive by Women’s History Research Center
Call Number: FILM 396 H439
Covers mostly the 1960s and 1970s. Journals, newspapers, and newsletters of women's liberation organizations, as well as women's civic, religious, professional, and peace organizations. The collection was issued in five successive parts. Consult the completed guide to understand the complicated arrangement.
The Jane Addams Papers by Jane Addams
Call Number: FILM 361.973 J253
Correspondence, records, and clippings on 82 reels. Separate subject indexes for correspondence and writings. Jane Addams in American National Biography.
The Papers of Margaret Sanger by Margaret Sanger
Call Number: FILM 363.960973 Sa58p
Diaries, articles, speeches, lectures, clippings, scrapbooks, photographs, memorabilia, and organization records relating to Sanger’s work advocating birth control and family planning. Sanger's papers are also being published in edited volumes. Search in the online catalog for Selected papers of Margaret Sanger. Some of the papers are also online through the Margaret Sanger Papers Project. Margaret Sanger in American National Biography.

African Americans

Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War Series B by Kenneth M. Stampp (Editor)
Call Number: FILM 975.03 R245B
Selections from the South Carolina Historical Society on 10 reels.
Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War Series E by Kenneth M. Stampp (Editor)
Call Number: FILM 975.03 R245E
ISBN: 0890937761
Selections from the University of Virginia Library.
Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War Series F by Kenneth M. Stampp (Editor) ; Randolph Boehm (Editor)
Call Number: FILM 975.03 R245f
ISBN: 0890937826
Selections from the Manuscript Department, Duke University Library.
Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War Series H by Kennet M. Stampp (Editor)
Call Number: FILM 975.03 R245H
ISBN: 1556551002
Selections from the Howard-Tilton Library, Tulane University, and the Louisiana State Museum Archives on 30 reels.
Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War Series I by Kenneth M. Stampp (Editor)
Call Number: FILM 975.03 R245i
ISBN: 1556551010
Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley collection, Louisiana State University Libraries on 58 reels.
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration Series A, Part 1 by Ira Berlin (Editor)
Call Number: FILM 975.041 R245a1
ISBN: 155655835X
Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 1, Alabama and South Carolina plantations on 23 reels.
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration Series A, Part 2 by Ira Berlin (Editor)
Call Number: FILM 975.041 R245a2
ISBN: 1556558597
Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 2, North Carolina and Virginia plantations on 26 reels.
Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration Series A, Part 3 by Ira Berlin (Editor)
Call Number: FILM 975.041 R245a3
ISBN: 1556558619
Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 3, Georgia and Florida plantations on 24 reels.
Detroit Urban League Papers, 1916-1950, at the University of Michigan by William H. McNitt (Editor)
Call Number: FILM 305.8960774 D484M
Organizational records on 35 reels. The Urban League was formed in 1910 to help black families who were relocating from the rural south to industrialized cities in the north, largely as a part of the Great Migration. National Urban League in Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present.

Other Social Groups

Shaker Collection
Call Number: FILM 289.8 Sh159
Records of United Society of Believers in Christ's Second Appearing, 1792-1937, on 32 reels.

Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States, Earliest Times to the Present
Compiled from the U.S. Decennial Census returns, and other published sources. Includes excellent, explanatory essays by expert demographers. Also includes a detailed subject index.
Social Explorer
Data on over 20,000 socio-economic indicators from 1790-present. Capable of using these statistical data to generate custom, interactive maps. Data drawn from the United States Census, 1790 to 2010; the American Community Survey, 2005 to 2012; the Religious Congregations and Membership Study, 1980 to 2010 (the most complete census available on religion in the US); and InfoGroup data on religious congregations in the US for 2009 and 2010.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Access to over 5,000 annual statistical publications of the United States Federal Government, with coverage back to 1973; over 2,200 annual statistical publications of American states and businesses; and over 2,500 annual statistical publications from International governmental and non-governmental organizations, like the United Nations, the European Union, the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, and more.
more...less...
Indexes statistical publications from federal, state, and local governmental agencies, along with statistics produced by international agencies and non-governmental organizations. Includes some full text.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Archives
Survey data from about 150 polling organizations, including Gallup. Emphasis on the United States, with some international polls. Coverage back to the 1930s.

International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-2000 by Brian Mitchell
Call Number: Q. 310 M692in2003
ISBN: 0333994108
Publication Date: 2003
Black Demographic Data, 1790-1860 by Clayton E. Cramer
Call Number: 973.0496073 C848B
ISBN: 031330243X
Publication Date: 1997
Historical Statistics of Black America by Jessie Carney Smith and Carrell Peterson Horton
Call Number: Q. 973.0496073 H6293
ISBN: 0810385422
Publication Date: 1995
2 vols.
Statistical Abstract of Latin America by Committee on Latin American Studies, University of California at Los Angeles
Call Number: 318 C128s
ISBN: 0081-4687
Publication Date: 1956-
1956-2002. See also the Supplement, 1970-2005.

Special/Archival Collections at UIUC

A brief summary of some of our outstanding collections is available at the web site of the Associate University Librarian for Collections.

The Rare Books and Manuscripts Library, located on the third floor of the Library, houses over 250,000 books and over 7,000 linear feet of manuscripts, including the papers of H.G. Wells, Carl Sandburg, and W.S. Merwin; a Spanish Civil War collection of material documenting the U.S. literary and military involvement in Spain's fight against fascism; the Baskette collection on freedom of expression and censorship; the Meine collection of American humor, and thousands of rare books from the 15th -20th centuries. For more information on their collections, see their web site.

The University Archives, located in the basement of the main Library, houses the largest collection of historical manuscripts in Illinois. The focus of the collection is American social, intellectual, and cultural history, but there is significant material pertaining to other parts of the world. Because archives are unpublished, these materials are not classified according to the Dewey Decimal Classification, and they do not appear in the online catalog. Instead, they are arranged according to a system based on "provenance" (the person or entity that created the material) into record groups, sub-groups, and series. A searchable database containing descriptions of the papers and records held by the University Archives is available at http://web.library.uiuc.edu/ahx/archon/.

Both personal papers and organizational or institutional records are held in the University Archives. Examples include the papers of the journalist James B. Reston (reporter for the New York Times from 1939 to 1989), the papers of Avery Brundage, the president of the U.S. Olympic Committee (1929-52) and International Olympic Committee (1952-72), the records of the American Society for Cybernetics, and the Alpha Tau Omega archives.

Contact Bill Maher, University Archivist, or Chris Prom, Assistant University Archivist, for further information on the Library's archival collections (University Archives, Room 19 Library, 217-333-7998).

The Student Life and Cluture Archive offers a wealth of source material documenting student involvement in fraternities, sororities, student government, political activities, religious associations, publications, social events, and athletics. The SLC Archives is located in the old Horticultural Field Laboratory at 1707 South Orchard Street in Urbana (east of the President's house on Florida Avenue). Contact Ellen Swain, Archivist for Student Life and Culture, for more information (217-333-7841).

The Communications Library and the University Archives hold three major collections of print advertising. The Communications Library curates the D'Arcy and Woodward Collections. The D'Arcy collection, containing 2 million ads published between 1890 and 1970, has its own online index of products and brands (http://www.comm.uiuc.edu/darcy/). The entire collection has been microfilmed, and you can obtain color photocopies of these ads. Contact Lisa Romero, Communications Librarian, for help with this material (l-romero@uiuc.edu). The Communications Library also houses the Woodward Collection of approximately four million ads from the late 19th century through the 1980s.

The University Archives houses the Advertising Council Archives ("Only you can prevent forest fires"), which includes material from their campaign ads. The Advertising Council was established in early 1942 to support the war effort through public service advertising. For more information on the Advertising Council Archives, see http://web.library.uiuc.edu/ahx/adcouncil, or contact the staff in the University Archives (listed above).