Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Cinema do Brasil: Books

Um guia para os estudantes e/ou pesquisadores do cinema brasileiro / A guide for students and/or researchers of Brazilian cinema

Suggested Titles

Below are books available at UIUC related to Brazilian cinema.

1.

Author: Baladi, Mauro, author.
Title: Dicionário de cinema brasileiro : filmes de longa-metragem produzidos entre 1909 e 2012 / Mauro Baladi ; apresentação, Regina Schöpke.
Edition: 1a ediçao.
Physical Description: xviii, 1865 pages ; 24 cm
Subject (LCSH): Motion pictures --Brazil --Encyclopedias.
Motion pictures --Brazil --History --Dictionaries --Portuguese.
Other Name: Schöpke, Regina, writer of preface.
Notes: Includes index.
ISBN: 9788580631173 (paperback)
8580631173 (paperback)
Persistent link to this page: https://i-share.carli.illinois.edu/uiu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&v1=1&BBRecID=7452019

Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
Location: Literatures & Languages Reference
Call Number: 791.430981 B18d 2013 →Text me this call number
Copy: 1

2.

Author: Butcher, Pedro.
Title: Cinema brasileiro hoje / Pedro Butcher.
Series: Folha explica ; 67. Cinema e vídeo
Folha explica ; 67.
Folha explica. Cinema e vídeo.
Published: São Paulo : Publifolha, c2005.
Physical Description: 111 p. ; 18 cm.
Includes: Filmography: p. [98]-108.
Includes bibliographical references (p. [110]-111).
Subject (LCSH): Motion pictures --Brazil --History and criticism.
ISBN: 857402659X
Persistent link to this page: https://i-share.carli.illinois.edu/uiu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&v1=1&BBRecID=5125764

Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
Location: Main Stacks
Call Number: 791.430981 B971c →Text me this call number
Copy: 1

3.

Author: Diegues, Carlos.
Title: Cinco mais cinco : os maiores filmes brasileiros em bilheteria e crítica / Carlos Diegues, Luiz Carlos Merten, Rodrigo Fonseca ; Marcos Didonet, organizador.
Series: Coleção Festival do Rio
Edition: 1a ed.
Published: Rio de Janeiro, RJ : Legere Editora, 2007.
Physical Description: 290 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 23 cm.
Includes: Includes bibliographical references (p. 285-288).
Subject (LCSH): Motion pictures --Brazil --History.
Motion pictures --Brazil --Catalogs.
Other Name: Merten, Luiz Carlos, 1945-
Fonseca, Rodrigo.
Didonet, Marcos.
ISBN: 9788586402418
8586402419
LC Card Number: 2008318461
Persistent link to this page: https://i-share.carli.illinois.edu/uiu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&v1=1&BBRecID=6033271

Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
Location: Oak Street Facility [request only]
Call Number: LABO.08/2009.409 →Text me this call number
Copy: 1

4.

Author: Gerber, Raquel
Title: O cinema brasileiro e o processo político e cultural (de 1950 a 1978) : bibliografia e filmografia crítica e seletiva (ênfase no cinema novo e Glauber Rocha com entradas na área da política e da cultura) : texto introdutório, O processo cinemanovista (notas sobre a história e filmes) / Raquel Gerber.
Edition: 1a. ed.
Published: [Rio de Janeiro] : EMBRAFILME, 1982.
Physical Description: 290 p. ; 21 cm.
Subject (LCSH): Rocha, Glauber --Bibliography.
Motion pictures --Brazil --Bibliography.
Notes: Originally presented as the author’s thesis (mestrado--Universidade de São Paulo, 1978) under the title: O mito da civilização atlântica.
Persistent link to this page: https://i-share.carli.illinois.edu/uiu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&v1=1&BBRecID=861860

Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
Location: Main Stacks
Call Number: 016.79143 G313c →Text me this call number

5.

Author: Nobre, F. Silva.
Title: Inventário do cinema brasileiro : bibliografia / F. Silva Nobre.
Published: Fortaleza : Gráfica Editorial Cearense, 1978.
Physical Description: 256 p. ; 23 cm.
Subject (LCSH): Motion pictures --Brazil --Bibliography.
Persistent link to this page: https://i-share.carli.illinois.edu/uiu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&v1=1&BBRecID=400648

Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
Location: Oak Street Facility [request only]
Call Number: 016.79143 N669I →Text me this call number
Copy: 1

6.

Author: Shaw, Lisa, 1966-
Title: Brazilian national cinema / Lisa Shaw and Stephanie Dennison.
Series: National cinemas
National cinemas series.
Published: London ; New York : Routledge, 2007.
Physical Description: xiv, 223 p. ; 24 cm.
Includes: Includes bibliographical references and index.
Includes filmography.
Publisher description
http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/ecip079/2007003582.html
http://www.loc.gov/catdir/enhancements/fy0731/2007003582-d.html
Subject (LCSH): Motion pictures --Brazil --History.
Subject (Other): Film.
Brasilien.
Other Name: Dennison, Stephanie.
ISBN: 0415338158 (hbk. : alk. paper)
0415338166 (pbk. : alk. paper)
9780415338158 (hbk. : alk. paper)
9780415338165 (pbk. : alk. paper)
LC Card Number: 2007003582
Other Identifying Number: GBA741031
013755840
Persistent link to this page: https://i-share.carli.illinois.edu/uiu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&v1=1&BBRecID=5410824

Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
Location: Literatures & Languages
Call Number: PN1993.5.B6 S45 2007 →Text me this call number
Copy: 1

7.

Author: West, Dennis.
Title: Contemporary Brazilian cinema / Dennis West.
Series: Brazilian curriculum guide specialized bibliography
Brazil guides series
Published: Albuquerque, N.M. : Latin American Institute, [1984?]
Physical Description: 27 leaves ; 28 cm.
Includes: Bibliography: leaves 16-26.
Subject (LCSH): Motion pictures --Brazil --History.
  Motion picture industry --Brazil --History.
  Motion pictures --Brazil --History --Bibliography.
Persistent link to this page: https://i-share.carli.illinois.edu/uiu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&v1=1&BBRecID=935071

Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
Location: Oak Street Facility [request only]
Call Number: 791.430981 W52c →Text me this call number
Copy: 2
 

8.

Title: Brazil in twenty-first century popular media : culture, politics, and nationalism on the world stage / edited by Naomi Pueo Wood.
Published: Lanham : Lexington Books, ©2014.
Physical Description: viii, 203 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Includes: Includes bibliographical references and index.
 
Subject (LCSH): Motion pictures --Social aspects --Brazil --History --21st century.
Motion pictures --Political aspects --Brazil --History --21st century.
Documentary films --Brazil --History and criticism.
Nationalism in motion pictures.
Social problems in motion pictures.
Brazil --In motion pictures.
Genre/Form: Criticism, interpretation, etc.
History.
Other Name: Wood, Naomi Pueo, editor.
ISBN: 9780739186916
0739186914
9780739186923
0739186922
LC Card Number: 2013046304
Other Identifying Number: GBB405612
016603247
Persistent link to this page: https://i-share.carli.illinois.edu/uiu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&v1=1&BBRecID=7608119

Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
Location: International & Area Studies Books
Call Number: PN1993.5.B6 B695 2014 →Text me this call number
Copy: 1