Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Latin American and Caribbean Databases
Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Identifies article and review citations regarding Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S. in subject areas including political science, history and the humanities.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Identifies articles, books and conference papers on the social sciences and humanities in Latin America
Latin american Periodicals Tables of Contents
(LAPTOC) provides open electronic access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean between the years 1994 and 2009. LAPTOC consists of more than 800 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region, including bibliographic references to more than 250,000 articles in the area's major languages.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American studies is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today’s students, scholars, and researchers. It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help users find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. PLEASE NOTE THAT UIUC HAS LIMITED ACCESS TO THIS RESOURCE.
Open Access Databases
FIAF International Film Archive Database
FIAF Index to Film Periodicals is a bibliographical index offering in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present day.
Latin America in Video
Latin America in Video offers quality original language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and much more.
Film & Television Literature Index
Film & Television Literature Index™ is the definitive index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300). This database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
International and Area Studies Library
Subjects: African Studies
, Chinese Studies
, European Union
, Global Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Korean Studies
, Latin America
, Middle East
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European
, South Asian Studies