LibGuides: Information Sciences 503: History of Children's Literature: Find Print and Digital Children's Books

Find a Book! Recent Catalog Listings for the "Children's Literature -- Bibliography" Heading (See more with the "View" Links)

Find Copies of Particular Children's Books

You can find copies of individual titles in our library catalog, including both print copies and digital formats from licensed collections such as Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) or from HathiTrust, which has many free public domain titles. In the library catalog advanced search, you can search for children's books on a particular topic by using "juvenile literature" as a subject term combined with an appropriate keyword.

Library Catalog (Primo)
HathiTrust Digital Library
Includes free access to public domain works and sign-in access to items contributed by the University of Illinois. Items from HathiTrust are listed in the library catalog.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.

Internet Archive
Contains freely available digitized versions of public domain texts. Internet Archive items are not listed in our library catalog, so this may be a good place to look for a historical children's book of interest. Internet Archive is a Scalar partner, so you can directly import books from there without having to upload them yourself.

Need more? See the parallel guide for this course on finding and using online media for your Scalar digital publishing assignment, which includes a tab highlighting notable digital collections in the history of children's literature that you may want to use.