Core Journals
As you are searching the article databases to the right, you will find research in a broad range of journals. The following titles are some of the top in the field:
- The Lion and the Unicorn
- Children’s Literature in Education
- Jeunesse
- Children’s Literature Quarterly
- Children’s Literature
- Journal of the History of Childhood and Youth
Put Your Historian Outfit On and Explore: Recent Catalog Listings for the "Children's Literature -- History and Criticism" Heading (See more with the "View" Links)
Article Indexes (Databases)
Children's Literature is a field that attracts researchers from numerous disciplines, including not just literature but the information sciences, education, and history. You will likely need to search in disciplinary databases for each of these fields to find relevant articles, as well as the library catalog for books in the field.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: MLA International Bibliography in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches).Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
- Library and Information Science Source This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Library and Information Science Source in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). This database offers full text and indexing for English and foreign-language periodicals, journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, library school theses, books and more. Subject coverage encompasses librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. In addition, the database provides comprehensive coverage of the history of library studies, and access to author profiles, including information on 5,000 of the most-frequently indexed authors.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Alternate version: America: History & Life with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches).
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Alternate version: Historical Abstracts with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches).
- ERIC - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: ERIC - EBSCO in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). ERIC is a Web-based digital library of free education-related sources of interest to educators, researchers, and the general public, and consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature. The collection is to be expanded to include full-texts of articles and other electronic resources such as audio and video materials.
Find Research Books
Scholars in humanities disciplines like literature and history often publish their most important work in monographs (books on specialized topics, usually by a single author). You will want to search the library catalog and beyond for these works as well as collected essays on children's literature.
You can search for research on particular titles or authors using the keyword search, but you can also use the term "children's literature" as a subject search. The subheading "history and criticism" can be included in that or left off.
- I-Share CatalogFind books from other Illinois academic libraries when we don't own them or when our copy is checked out.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat lists the holdings over over 9,000 member institutions, and you may want to use it to locate books not available through the Library Catalog or I-Share.
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801