Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full-text access to hundreds of recent (and even not-so-recent) newspaper and magazine articles.
Today's papers from around the world in their original full-page layout and design (advertisements and images intact). Over 250 titles from over 50 countries available online.
Access World News/Newsbank
Full-text articles from major metropolitan newspapers, international papers, and smalltown U.S. papers. Articles from the Chicago Tribune date back to 1985. Click on Illinois. Or, click on United States or The World.
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Search tip: if you want to look at a specific paper or papers (useful for comparing activity, sentiment, etc across the country), type the name of the newspaper in the search box, then select "publication title" from the drop down menu to the right.
SweetSearch is a Google-powered custom search engine that only searches 35,000 Web sites that a staff of research experts deems credible.
ipl2 is the result of a merger of the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians' Internet Index (LII). It is a directory for useful websites on the Internet
This is the most comprehensive bibliographic resource for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for Chicano reference.
A full-text collection of 200 newspapers and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Indexed in the database are articles, editorials, columns, and reviews which address minority news, culture, and history. Published by Proquest, it covers 1990-present.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Currently provides over 34,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Modern American Poetry
A comprehensive learning environment and scholarly forum for the study of modern American poetry by the Department of English, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Click on CRITICISM to be led to search for a particular Chicano/a poet.
Search for a particular Chicano/a poet here.