Books
Books are another valuable resource in any research paper or project. Books (as opposed to articles) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Longer in length
- Good sources of background and historical information
- Often contain footnotes and lengthy bibliographies
To find books at Uni:
1. First do a search in the UIUC Online Catalog.
2. Once you have your search results, use the sidebar on the right side to limit your search results by LOCATION.
3. Write down the call number and search the stacks at Uni for your book!
Online Reference
Reference sources -- either online or in print -- make a great starting point for your project. Search the online sources listed below to get to specific encyclopedia entries or browse by topic.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryBrowse by topic or search for "Early Civilizations in the Americas" to gain access to the most relevant (to your project) volume in this reference library.
- Credo ReferenceSearch by the name of your pre-Columbian culture. NOTE: For those of you researching Wari-Tiwanaku, you will need to drop "Wari."
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican CulturesA comprehensive reference source of the great pre-Columbian cultures, with over 600 articles, covering everything from architecture, language, warfare, and everything in between.
Online Databases
Database searching often reveals articles that can take your research to the next level. Remember: when you find an article that seems relevant and you want to find more like it, follow the subject heading trail!
- Academic Search PremierThis multidisciplinary database searches magazine and journal articles from thousands of periodicals.
- MAS Ultra - School EditionDesigned specifically for high school libraries, MAS Ultra School Edition contains full text for hundreds of popular high school magazines covering a wide-range of subject areas including history, science, careers and much more. In the advanced search option, you can also make sure you are searching articles with the highest reading level.
