Animation
Bheem and Hanuman: The Sons of Vayu (Amar Chitra Katha Animated Series) by Call Number: DVD PN1997.5 .B444 2010Publication Date: 2010Location: Undergraduate Media Collection- Bheem and the Nagas (Amar Chitra Katha Animated Series) by Call Number: DVD PN1997.5 .B4446 2011Publication Date: 2011Location: Undergraduate Media Collection
- Drona (Amar Chitra Katha Animated Series) by Call Number: DVD PN1997.5 .D766 2010Publication Date: 2010Location: Undergraduate Media Collection
- Ghatotkach the Invincible Teenage Warrior (Amar Chitra Katha Animated Series) by Call Number: DVD PN1997.5 .G438 2010Publication Date: 2010Location: Undergraduate Media Collection
- Hanuman's Leap to Lanka (Amar Chitra Katha Animated Series) by Call Number: DVD PN1997.5 .H368 2011Publication Date: 2011Location: Undergraduate Media Collection
- Karna (Amar Chitra Katha Animated Series) by Call Number: DVD PN1997.5 .K37 2010Publication Date: 2010Location: Undergraduate Media Collection
- Krishna and the Syamantak Gem (Amar Chitra Katha Animated Series) by Call Number: DVD PN1997.5 .K757 2011Publication Date: 2011Location: Undergraduate Media Collection
- Ravan Humbled (Amar Chitra Katha Animated Series) by Call Number: DVD PN1997.5 .R383 2011Publication Date: 2011Location: Undergraduate Media Collection
- Sita Sings the Blues by Call Number: DVD PN1997.2 .S5328335 2009Publication Date: 2009Location: Undergraduate Media Collection
- Sugreev & Vali the Rulers of Kishkindha (Amar Chitra Katha Animated Series) by Call Number: DVD PN1997.5 .S847 2010Publication Date: 2010Location: Undergraduate Media Collection
- Tales of Vishnu (Amar Chitra Katha Animated Series) by Call Number: DVD PN1997.5 .T35 2010Publication Date: 2010Location: Undergraduate Media Collection
Documentaries & Short Films
- The lover and the beloved [videorecording]: a journey into Tantra by Call Number: DVD BL1283.84 .L68 2012Location: Undergraduate Media Collection
- The one and the many by Call Number: Online Resource, DVD BL1280.9 .O54 2013Location: *UIUC Online Collection, Undergraduate Media Collection
Manakamana by Call Number: DVD BL2034.3 .M36 2014ISBN: 0781514754Publication Date: 2014Location: Undergraduate Media Collection- Indian Film by Call Number: PN1993.5.I8 B3 1980ISBN: 0195026829Publication Date: 1980-05-29Location: Literature and Languages
- The painted face : studies in India's popular cinema by Call Number: 302.23430954 D26PPublication Date: 1991Location: Main Stacks
Encyclopedia of Indian Cinema by Call Number: Q. 791.430954 R137e1999aISBN: 1579581463Publication Date: 1999-07-01Location: Main Stacks
Iconicity and Darshan
Bollywood by Call Number: 791.430954 B6581ISBN: 0761933204Publication Date: 2005-07-13Location: Main Stacks- When was modernism : essays on contemporary cultural practice in India by Call Number: 700.95409045 K143wISBN: 8185229147Publication Date: 2000Location: Main Stacks
Media Worlds by Call Number: 302.23 M46833ISBN: 0520224485Publication Date: 2002-10-23Location: Communications- Contributions to Indian sociology by Call Number: 301 C767n.s.ISBN: 0069-9659Publication Date: 2002Location: Main Stacks Asian
Making Meaning in Indian Cinema by Call Number: 791.4370954 M289ISBN: 0195645456Publication Date: 2000-08-10Location: Main Stacks
The Melodramatic Public by Call Number: PN1993.5.I4 V375 2011ISBN: 9780230247642Publication Date: 2011-02-01Location: Literatures & Languages
Online sources
- Jai Santoshi MaaAvailable on Youtube
- Living GoddessFreely available via Vimeo
- MemsaabPersonal website of “Memsaab,” a US-based fan of Hindi popular cinema
- UpperstallIndia-based database of contemporary and historical films produced in Hindi, Bengali, Tamil, Malayalam, Telugu, Marathi, and other languages
- Philip's Fil-umsNotes on Indian films, primarily Hindi, from a scholarly perspective
Religion in Indian Cinema
- Media and the Transformation of Religion in South Asia by Call Number: 291.175 M468ISBN: 0812233042Publication Date: 1995-08-01Location: Communications
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism by Call Number: 294.503 B769ISBN: 9789004178939Publication Date: 2010-09-24Location: History, Philosophy & Newspaper Ref
Bollywood Cinema by Call Number: PN1993.5.I8 M46 2002ISBN: 0415930146Publication Date: 2001-12-07Location: Literatures & Languages
Filming the Gods by Call Number: PN1993.5.I4 D88 2006ISBN: 0415314240Publication Date: 2006-07-24Location: Literatures & Languages
South Indian Cinema
Theorizing Hinduism in Indian Cinema
The Secret Politics of Our Desires by Call Number: PN1993.5.I8 S4 1998ISBN: 1856495159Publication Date: 1999-04-01Location: Literatures & Languages- The Hindi Film: Agent and Re-Agent of Cultural Change by Call Number: 791.430954 H585ISBN: 9780836416343Publication Date: 1986-07-01Location: Main Stacks
- Consuming Modernity by Call Number: 306.0954 C766ISBN: 0816623058Publication Date: 1995-09-19Location: Main Stacks
TV series
- Ramayan [videorecording] by Call Number: VIDREC 791.4572 R141Publication Date: 1986-1988Location: Oak Street Facility [request only]