Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recent Illinois Court Cases (Environmental Law)
National Environmental Law Resources
Law 360's News Sources for Most Up-to-date Environmental Law Cases
This site provides continuous coverage of every major litigation development in the U.S. federal district courts, every major lawsuit filed against the world’s 2,000 top companies, every major opinion handed down in the U.S. federal courts, every major development in class actions and multidistrict litigation, every major transaction involving the top 250 U.S. law firm, every major hire at the top 800 U.S. law firms, and every major initiative by state, federal and international legislatures.
Wikipedia's Compiled List of Environmental Lawsuits
Compiled list of well-known lawsuits for reference.
Environmental Law Reporter
The Environmental Law Reporter® is an essential online research tool edited by attorneys that provides the most-often cited analysis of environmental, sustainability, natural resources, energy, toxic tort, and land use law and policy.
Case Law Resources
Links to finding-aides for case law documents and resources.
FindLaw is a Thomson Reuters business and provides an easy-to-navigate database that includes some cases from the Illinois Supreme and Illinois Court of Appeals and does allow to be searched by topic "Environmental Law," as well as other subjects.
Illinois Supreme Court
The Illinois Supreme Court provides searchable databases of previous court opinions, dockets, anticipated opinions, order, rules, announcements, and information resources for the legal community. This website also features information regarding appellate and circuit courts. This website may be difficult to navigate for some and the historic Supreme Court case opinions in the database only go back to 1996. The case archive is only searchable by court and year of case.
LexisNexis Academic subscribers can search for Cases by subject and then narrow the results found in the database to show only cases within Illinois. This will provide a list of historic cases held before the Supreme Court of Illinois. As of 2014, only 23 cases have taken place relating to the topic of "Pollution."
UIUC Case Law LibGuide
For more information locating case claw, many academic libraries provide resources and finding aids including the legal LibGuides at UIUC.