Printing -- Lithography Topic Hub

Fact sheet provides a brief description of some OSHA record keeping and training regulation steps

Provides basic understanding of various record keeping requirements mandated by EPA.

A list of potential sources of pollution to the air, water, and land commonly found in a lithographic printing plant that may be subject to permitting and/or special waste disposal and reporting requirements.

This control techniques guidance (CTG) addresses both the offset lithographic printing industry and the letterpress printing industry. Although offset lithographic printing and letterpress printing are two distinct product categories on the section 183(e) list, they have many similarities in the types of inks and cleaning materials used, the sources of VOC emissions, and the controls available to address those emissions. We therefore address both categories in this CTG. The CTG is intended to provide state and local air pollution control authorities information that should assist them in determining reasonably available control technologies for volatile organic compounds (VOCs) for offset lithographic printing and letterpress printing. In developing this CTG, EPA, among other things, evaluated the sources of VOC emissions from these printing industries and the available control approaches for addressing these emissions, including the costs of such approaches. Based on available information and data, EPA provides recommendations for RACT for offset lithographic printing and letterpress printing.

The study provides an overview of regulations affecting the commercial printing industry.

Allows the user to list the most frequently cited Federal or State OSHA standards for a NAICS code.

The Hazard Communication Standard (HCS) (29 CFR 1910.1200(g)), revised in 2012, requires that the chemical manufacturer, distributor, or importer provide Safety Data Sheets (SDSs) (formerly MSDSs or Material Safety Data Sheets) for each hazardous chemical to downstream users to communicate information on these hazards. The information contained in the SDS is largely the same as the MSDS, except now the SDSs are required to be presented in a consistent user-friendly, 16-section format. This brief provides guidance to help workers who handle hazardous chemicals to become familiar with the format and understand the contents of the SDSs.

Fact sheet offers basic information contained within an SDS (formerly called MSDS) form.

Air monitoring information for the printing industry from U.S. EPA.

Includes a multimedia assessment protocol that utilizes a process-based approach in which the inspector identifies noncompliance with any applicable media or program specific regulation (air, water, solid waste) as well as pollution prevention and innovative technology opportunities as part of the assessment of individual printing processes. This assessment protocol serves as a reference for the conduct of these assessments, and includes procedures, an assessment checklist, and an example assessment report. It focuses on lithographic printing facilities only, and addresses prepress (image processing and platemaking), press (makeready and printing), and postpress (finishing) operations. An overview of lithographic printing processes is contained in Section 1 of this guidance. (PDF Format; 91 pages)

Written by Gary Jones of the Graphic Arts Technical Foundation. Federal regulatory information related to PBTs. (PDF format; Length: 12 pages)

Discusses and explains elements in the OSHA Hazard Communication Program

The rule requires existing and new major sources to control emissions using the maximum achievable control technology (MACT) to control hazardous air pollutants (HAP). The final rule includes organic HAP emission limits for publication rotogravure, product and packaging rotogravure, and wide-web flexographic printing. A variety of organic HAP are used as solvents and components of inks and other materials used by printers. The HAP emitted by the facilities covered by this final rule include xylene, toluene, ethylbenzene, methyl ethyl ketone, methyl isobutyl ketone, methanol, ethylene glycol, and certain glycol ethers. All of these pollutants can cause reversible or irreversible toxic effects following exposure.

Thorough overview, essential background document. Includes P2 opportunities, compliance issues, specific regulatory information, and statistical overview.

Provides an overview of the basic federal regulations covering wastes that are likely to be hazardous in your business. It also provides recycling and pollution prevention options to help businesses decrease the amount of hazardous waste they produce.

Handbook offers basic record keeping information for EPA, RCRA and OSHA

Links to state regulations, searchable databases.

The Toxics in Packaging Clearinghouse (TPCH) maintains the Model Toxics in Packaging Legislation and coordinates implementation of state legislation, based on the Model, on behalf of its member states, with the goal of promoting consistency across states. TPCH is a resource and single point of contact for companies seeking information on toxics in packaging requirements or an exemption.

Fact sheet discusses revisions to air pollution permitting requirements