Where to Find Books
- Library Catalog
This link opens in a new window
Find books and journals at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library, and in I-Share.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window WorldCat is a worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind. You can also use WorldCat on the FirstSearch platform.
Recommended Databases for Scholarly Articles
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window Indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians, and many of the index records include abstracts. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more. Coverage is from 1935 & earlier to present. Use Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide in the NEW EBSCO user interface.
- ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window This database provides extensive coverage of research on aquatic organisms for scientists researching the world's living aquatic resources. Marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, and legal, policy and socioeconomic issues. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Aquatic Sciences supplements ASFA with access to over a million indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature. Coverage: 1971 - current
- Web of Science (All Databases Search) This link opens in a new window The Web of Science Core Collection, Biological Abstracts, CABI, and Zoological Record all index literature on endangered and threatened species. You can search all simultaneously here.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
Recommended Databases for Government Information and Grey Literature
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS) This link opens in a new window The preeminent resource for accessing the latest U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information
- Science.gov This link opens in a new window Science.gov is a gateway to U.S. government science information. The portal offers free access to research and development (R&D) results and scientific and technical information from scientific organizations across 13 federal agencies.
- National Technical Reports Library Search for U.S. Government Technical Reports
Databases for Newspaper Articles and Popular Media
- Access World News This link opens in a new window Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
Important Illinois Documents
- Publications of the Illinois Endangered Species Protection BoardOnline documents include board reports and the "Endangered and Threatened Species of Illinois: Status and Distribution" documents from 2002-2011
Sample searches in the Library Catalog for Illinois topics
- Author search: Illinois Endangered Species Protection Board This search retrieves items from I-Share libraries which list the Illinois Endangered Species Protection Board as an author.
- Subject search: Endangered species illinois This search retrieves materials in the I-Share catalog with the subject heading "Endangered species" and Illinois.
- Subject search: Endangered plants Illinois This search retrieves materials in I-Share libraries with "Endangered plants" and Illinois in the subject headings.
- Subject search: rare plants illinois This search retrieves materials in I-Share libraries with "rare plants" and Illinois in the subject heading.
- Subject search : "rare animals", with region limit Illinois Retrieves materials in I-Share libraries with "rare animals" and Illinois in the subject.
- Keyword search: Blanding's turtle Retrieves materials in I-Share libraries where "Blanding's turtle" or "Blandings turtle" appears anywhere in the record.