Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias (arranged in descending order by publication date in each category)
Oxford Art Online
Online at above link
The Oxford Art Online resources include Grove Art Online, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art, all of which you may search for basic information on a variety of art media, including metalwork.
Gold: a cultural encyclopedia by
Call Number: 669.2203 V55g
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library Reference [non-circulating]
This work offers "detailed information about the historical, cultural, social, religious, economic, and scientific significance of gold, across the globe and throughout history." Includes bibliographical references and an index.
An Illustrated Dictionary of Silverware by
Call Number: 739.2303N464i
Publication Date: 1987-10-01
Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating] and Architecture & Art
Includes 2,373 entries relating to British and North American wares, decorative techniques and styles, and leading designers and makers, mainly from around 1500 to the present.
An Illustrated Dictionary of Jewellery by
Call Number: 739.2703M38i
Publication Date: 1973
Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
Includes definitions of types of jewelry, materials used, properties, and techniques used in jewelry-making.
An encyclopedia of antiques by
Call Number: 708.051 B64E
Publication Date: 1937
Main Stacks and Online at above link
This encyclopedia on antique metals, furniture, pottery and porcelain, glass, and textiles includes entries about materials, styles, techniques, and more. With biographies of artisans and a bibliography.