Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Who Owns the Past? by
Publication Date: 2000
A documentary produced at Berkeley that explores the conflict between anthropologists and Indian people over the control of human remains found on ancestral Indian land.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by
Publication Date: 2002-05-25
In addition to plentiful place-based entries, this encyclopedia also includes useful entries on Ethical Issues, Illicit Antiquities, Native Peoples and Archaeology, and Who Owns the Past? Includes guides to further reading.
Native Americans by
Publication Date: 1998
2 volume encyclopedia on Native American tribes, organized geographically.
Trafficking Culture Encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2012-
This online encyclopedia by the Trafficking Culture research group at the University of Glasgow contains about 100 articles, many on particular looted artifacts or archaeological sites.
Sacred Sites and Repatriation by
Publication Date: 2006
A concise introduction to issues surrounding repatriation aimed at undergraduates, with summaries of the controversy as it relates to legislation, anthropology, museums, and scared sites.
Sacred Objects and Sacred Places: Preserving Tribal Traditions by
Publication Date: 2000
Interesting, varied, and accessible book that includes oral histories, plentiful photographs, and case studies and aims to tell the story of "the ways in which Native Americans seek to preserve tribal traditions and a sense of Indian identity" (p. 1). Sections on repatriation of burial remains, museums, the preservation of sacred sites, and ongoing tribal culture.
Grave Injustice: The American Indian Repatriation Movement and NAGPRA by
Publication Date: 2002
Using a history and case-studies approach, Fine-Dare, an anthropologist, discusses the history of collecting and the repatriation movement, culminating in a discussion of the Native American Grave Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA). Part of a series from the University of Nebraska Press on ethnography of Native Americans.
The Ethics of Collecting Cultural Property by
Publication Date: 1989, rev. 1989
The updated and expanded version of this collection features 22 essays by contributors representing archaeology, law, museum administration, art history, and philosophy. It has case studies of archaeological sites, essays on legal issues, and discussions of cooperation among stakeholders. Primarily focused on North American archaeology in light of NAGPRA.
Contesting Knowledge: Museums and Indigenous Perspectives by
Publication Date: 2009
Based on a 2007 symposium at the Newberry Library, these essays consider the role of museums in constructing indigenous cultures and histories. Although some essays cover Africa and South America, the majority of the essays consider the issues from a North American perspective, and several focus on the Smithsonian's Museum of the Native American in particular.
The Future of the Past by
Publication Date: 2001
From Garland Publishing: "To date, the notion of repatriation has been formulated as a highly polarized debate with museums, archaeologists, and anthropologists on one side, and Native Americans on the other. This volume offers both a retrospective and a prospective look at the topic of repatriation. By juxtaposing the divergent views of native peoples, anthropologists, museum professionals, and members of the legal profession, it illustrates the complexity of the repatriation issue."
Sacred Claims: Repatriation and Living Tradition by
Publication Date: 2007
Published by University of Virginia Press, this volume focuses on how religious discourse informs the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA).
This website is by the Trafficking Culture research group at the University of Glasgow. It contains an encyclopedia, current publications and research data, current news, and a well-curated list of links to other information resources.
17 Recommended Blogs on Antiquities Trade and Looting
This blog post recommends 17 current blogs that post regularly on archaeology, the antiquities trade, and looting.
Cultural Heritage Investigations
This site from U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) contains a summary of the work that ICE does to prevent antiquities and brief descriptions of particular items that were intercepted or returned by ICE.