Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Grainger Engineering Library Patent information
This website gives a general overview on how to locate patent information using University of Illinois resources. It provides step-by-step instructions. The website also explains the patent resources that Grainger Engineering Library has available.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Resources
This link provides access to a number of forms the USPTO requires for the patent application process.
Inventors Assistance Center (IAC)
The IAC provides patent information and services to the public. It is staffed by current and former Patent Examiners. This link contains information on its services as well as a list of frequently asked questions regarding patents and the patent application process.
Laws, Regulations, Policies & Procedures
This page was developed by the USPTO and contains links to a number of US patent laws and rules governing patents and the patent application process.
Office of Data Management
The Office of Data Management is part of the USPTO. This office manages and processes patent applications. Think provides an overview of the Office and contains links to frequently asked questions regarding patents and patent applications.
Office of Patent Classification
This link contains information regarding the many different classes of patents and the application process for each type. The link also includes frequently asked questions regarding the different types of patents.
Official Gazette for Patents
The Official Gazette for Patents website is updated weekly and provides access to full-text images of all patents granted that week and previous weeks. Any user may search by patent number or may browse by patent type (Design, Plant, Utility, etc.).
This link includes a flowchart developed by the USPTO explaining the patent process and the steps one must take in order to secure a patent.
Resources and Guidance
This link contains links to a number of resources answering commonly asked questions about patents and the patent process, including types of patents and links to tools and manuals designed to assist those who wish to engage in the patent application process.
Free Web Resources
FindLaw - Patents
This webpage contains a general overview on how to obtain a patent. It gives a three step process and explains who qualifies for a patent and provides a brief explanation of how to find patents as well as how to apply for one.