The UIUC Library has a very extensive collection of newspapers, both current and retrospective, in a variety of formats, including hard copy, microfilm, and digital reproductions. Not all of them are included in the online catalog.
When searching for a particular newspaper title, try searching it first in the:
Many newspapers are embedded in larger collections of online resources or in microfilm collections. Examples of "aggregated" online databases include African American Newspapers of the Nineteenth Century (see below), America's Historical Newspapers (part of the Archive of Americana), Ethnic NewsWatch (1960- ), the EastView collection of Russian/CIS newspapers and periodicals (1990s- ), and the American Periodical Series Online (see below). They may also be included in microfilm collections, such as the Underground Press Collection (1963-1985, FILM 071.3 Un3 History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library), Periodicals by and about American Indians, 1923-1981 (FILM 973.049705 P418 History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library), or Newspapers from the Russian Revolutionary Era (FILM 057.1 NE History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library).
We have guides to finding articles in African American Newspapers, and Alternative Newspapers (sometimes called "underground newspapers).
Search the Online Catalog (title or keyword search).
Search the Center for Research Libraries Newspaper Catalog.Type the title of the newspaper in the search box, or browse by place of publications. If you locate a newspaper at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), request it through Inter-Library Loan. CRL is one of the few libraries that will lend its print newspapers (as well as its newspapers on microfilm).
Search WorldCat. If you locate a newspaper through WorldCat, request it through Inter-Library Loan. Few libraries will lend print newspapers (some won't even lend microfilm).
Digital newspaper collections enable you to perform keyword searches across long runs of specific newspaper titles, as well as large corpuses of digitized newspapers.
To locate digital newspaper collections, consult our:
Below is an incomplete list of digital newspaper collections: