Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History 573A: Immigration, Race, and Class in the 20th Century United States

A course guide.

Using Newspapers on Microfilm


ST 200 Viewer Scanner
 

In addition to the traditional microfilm viewer printers, the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library owns 3 ScanPro 1000 and 4 ST 200 digital microform viewer-scanners. With these new devices, you can convert microfilm and microfiche to PDF files that can be easily saved to a disk or emailed to yourself.

Consult our PDF user guide for help using the ST 200 viewer-scanners.

Consult our PDF user guide for help using the ScanPro 1000 viewer-scanners.
 

Recent Newspapers

Use these sources to access content from the past 5 to 10 years, unless otherwise noted. For much more visit our Current Newspapers Page.

1. Digitized Historical Newspapers

For the most complete and up-to-date information on finding newspapers, whether current or historical, please visit our Find Newspapers guide. That guide is the best place to begin a search for newspapers.

These are some collections of digitized historical newspapers.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
New York Times (1851-2005)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)
Wall Street Journal (1889-1991)
Washington Post (1877-1992)
St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)
 
Also includes 6 major African American newspapers:
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Chicago Defender (1910-1975) 
America's Historical Newspapers.
          Keyword searchable collection covering 1690-1922.
 
Ethnic Newswatch.
          Mostly titles from 1990 to the present, but there are approximately 40 newspapers in this collection that go back to 1960.  In most cases, articles are presented as HTML text, not as digital replicas of the originals.
 
American Periodicals 
          Mostly periodicals published between 1740 and the early 20th century, but includes some newspapers, such as the National Police Gazette (sensationalistic reporting, crime news, 1845-1906 included in this database, although publication ceased only in the 1930s) and the New York Observer and Chronicle (1823-1912).  Keyword searchable.
 
Chronicling America.
          Covers 1836-1922, will eventually include newspapers from all 50 states.  Keyword searchable.  Includes Chicago newspapers, The Broad Ax (African American weekly, 1895-1922), Chicago Eagle (1889-1920), and the Day Book (1911-1917).
 
Hispanic American Newspapers.
           1801-1980.
 
Google News Archive.
            Large collection, keyword searchable, not digitized according to best practices established by the academic community.  Google does not provide a list of titles included, but we have produced a partial listing: http://www.library.illinois.edu/hpnl/newspapers/gna.php   Note that some of the newspapers in this collection are available only on a pay-per-view basis, and some of these (e.g., ProQuest papers) may be available for free to users with a UIUC net id if you connect to them directly through the Library's web site.
 
 
Additional titles and collections are listed in our Guide to Historical Newspapers Online.

2. Newspapers on Microfilm

The History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library has an extensive collection of historical newspapers on microfilm. In addition to the Online Catalog, historical newspapers on microfilm can be found by searching the UIUC Library Newspaper Database. You can search this database by city or country of publication and by date of publication, so you can identify which newspapers we have for a particular city, or for a particular city and a specific year.