See also the useful, 3 volume set Eastern Europe : an introduction to the people, lands, and culture.

Continued by Historical dictionary of Poland : 1945-1996.

See also the Encyclopedia of Nationalism ed. by Athena S. Leoussi (Call No. 320.5403 En192), and the Encyclopedia of Nationalism by Louis L. Snyder (Call No. 320.5403 SN92E).

The second edition of this historical dictionary updates and expands the previous edition (CH, Sep'95). The maps are a bit larger and clearer, chronologies are current through 2001, and the enormous bibliography covers books and journal articles through 2001. A few pages of basic statistics are now included in the appendix. The author has also added entries in the dictionary portion of the volume, including several biographical sketches of current political figures and a too-brief entry on Armenians that mentions their "claim" of genocide and generally promotes the official Turkish side of the incidents. The dictionary is best for coverage of mid- to late-20th-century Turkey and current politics. (from CHOICE review by T. Miller)

Online version of the 2 volume original. Signed articles, many extensive, with bibliographies. Online version supplemented with maps, photographs, sound recordings, and other digitized artefacts.

Various cumulations covering 1945 to 1980. See also the Supplements (Ergänzungsband), which bring the coverage forward to 2005.

Also available online.

2 databases. 1 covers articles and books on Czech history (coverage 1990-present). The other is an index to articles in the Czech historical journal, 1895 to 2002.

2 databases. 1 covers articles and books on Slovak history (coverage 1990-present). The other is an index to articles in the (Slovak) Historical journal, 1953–89.

Annual bibliograpy. 1938-present.

Covers 1920-30 with annual supplements for 1931-38.

Not on shelf. Consult library staff if interested in procuring this item. Also available through I-Share.

Covers articles published 1715-1891.

4 vols.

See also Independent Ukraine : a bibliographic guide to English-language publications, 1989-1999

23 vols.

Covers Albania, Bulgaria, Romania, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Macedonia, Serbia and Montenegro. Approximately 100,000 biographies on 531 fiche, from the 9th century to the present, sourced from about 200 reference works originally published between 1711 and 1995.

Updated by Historical atlas of Central Europe.

Political maps of Balkan Peninsula circa 1350, 1529, and 1914. Shows distribution of ethnic majority groups.