Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History 551: East European Historiography

A course guide.

Using Microfilm


ST 200 Viewer Scanner
In addition to the traditional microfilm viewer printers, the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library owns 2 ScanPro 1000 and 4 ST 200 digital microform viewer-scanners. With these new devices, you can convert microfilm and microfiche to PDF files that can be easily saved to a disk or emailed to yourself.

 

1. Digitized Newspapers

For the most complete and up-to-date information on finding newspapers, whether current or historical, please visit our Find Newspapers guide. That guide is the best place to begin a search for newspapers.

The below are 3 collections of digitized historical newspapers.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
The New York Times (1851-2005), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), the Washington Post (1877-1992), and the Chicago Tribune (1849-1986). Also includes 5 major African American newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-203), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975).
British Newspapers: 1600-1900.
Fully searchable collection of newspapers and pamphlets from the 16th and 17th centuries.
Times (London) Digital Archive: 1785-1985.
Fully searchable.

2. Newspapers on Microfilm

The History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library has an extensive collection of historical newspapers on microfilm. In addition to the Online Catalog, historical newspaper titles on microfilm can be found by searching the UIUC Library Newspaper Database. This database features searching by place and date of publication. Please consult the Finding and Using Microform Guide for more help.