Need More Help?
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail enginlib@library.illinois.edu.
Key Databases
Business Source Ultimate
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
EIU
Created to support country market research, this database includes In-depth analysis of current political, policy and economic trends for over 195 countries worldwide, with an 18 month outlook. Quarterly and annual statistics with at least 150 data points picked from reliable sources and reviewed by Economist Intelligence Unit analysts to provide consistent, objective and impartial coverage.
IBIS World
Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.
Nexis Uni
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
ProQuest One Business
Provides access to a mixture of practical and theoretical business content including company, industry, and country reports, scholarly journals and ebooks, videos, dissertations, newspapers, and more.
WDI Online
WDI Online is a comprehensive database on development data covering more than 700 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (starting in 1960 where data are available).
U.S. Census Bureau's American FactFinder
Demographic, economic and geographic data available from the U.S. Census Bureau. Users can create maps, tables, and other reports using data from the Population Census, Economic Census, Community Survey and Population Estimates Program.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
The U.S. Commerce Department's Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) provides an aggregated view of the final uses of the Nation's output and the income derived from its production; two of its most widely known measures are gross domestic product (GDP) and gross domestic income (GDI). BEA also prepares estimates of the Nation's stock of fixed assets and consumer durable goods.
EIU Viewpoint
To search for a country, click Geography at the top of the page. Type in the name of the country you're looking for.
The results will show a profile of the country. You can navigate using the tabs or click One-click report to see a briefing sheet including political and economic outlook, market opportunities, and more.
U.S. Census Bureau Statistical Abstract of the United States
Provides an overview of statistics collected by the federal government and public and private organizations on social and economic conditions in the United States. Supplies tables of demographic data, industry statistics (divided into sections including agriculture, finance, technology, transportation, and services), labor statistics, and a summary of the latest economic census.
U.S. Census Bureau
The ultimate place to find comprehensive and detailed demographic information on the United States.
World Development Indicators (WDI) Online
- WDI Online This link opens in a new windowWDI Online offers the World Bank's comprehensive database on development data. The extensive collection of development data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (1960 to present, where data available). The data can be downloaded into spreadsheets.
You can type the keywords in the search box on the top; browse by countries or indicators; see indicators by categories listed on the right side; search indicators in the quick search search box.
