Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Russian and East European Science Fiction

Bibliographies

Russian science fiction, 1956-1974 : a bibliography : original books, translated books, and an annotated checklist of criticism, with an appendix on criticism of Russian SF before 1956. Suvin, Dark.   Elizabethtown, N.Y. : Dragon Press, 1976.  UIUC Call Number:  Slavic Reference 016.8917083 SU8R1976.  Location: Slavic and East European Library. 

Utopian Literature.  A bibliography with a supplementary listing of works influential in Utopian thought.  Nigley, Glenn.  Lawrence, Kansas: The Regents Press of Kansas, 1977.  UIUC Call Number: 016.3210 N31u 1977.  Location: English Library  

Anatomy of wonder : a critical guide to science fiction.  Barron, Neil.  Westport, Conn. : Libraries Unlimited, 2004.  UIUC Call Number: 016.8083 An162004.  Location: Main Reference [non-circulating]. 

A research guide to science fiction studies : an annotated checklist of primary and secondary materials on fantasy and science fiction.  Compiled and edited by Marshall B. Tymn, Roger C. Schlobin, L. W. Currey.  New York : Garland Pub., 1977.  UIUC Call Number: 016.823 T97R.  Location: Main Stacks

Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Science Fiction.  D'Ammassa, Don.  New York:  Facts On File, 2005.    UIUC Call Number: 823.03 D185e [non-circulating].  Location: Undergraduate Library Reference

Dictionary of literary utopias.  Edited by Vita Fortunati and Raymond Trousson.  Paris: H. Champion, 2000.  UIUC Call Number: 016.32107 D561 [non-circulating].  Location: Modern Languages Library.   

Fantastika ot "A" do "IA" (Osnovnye poniatiia i terminy).  Kratkii entsiklopedicheskii spravochnik.  Osipov, A.H. Moskva: Dograf, 1999.  ISBN: 5-93431-001-1.  UIUC Call Number: Slavic Ref 809.3876203 Os4f.  Location: Slavic and East European Library.

A biographical dictionary of science fiction and fantasy artists.  Weinberg, Robert E.  New York : Greenwood Press, 1988.  UIUC Call Number:741.60922 W43B.  Location: Main Stacks. 

Brave new words: the Oxford dictionary of science fiction.  Prucher, Jeff.  Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2007.  UIUC Call Number: 809.3876203 B739.  Location: English Library[non-circulating] and Residence Halls Illinois Street Circulating Collection.

Historical dictionary of science fiction literature.  Stableford, Brian.  Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2004.  UIUC Call Number: 809.376203 St118h.  Location: English Library Reference

Science fiction A to Z : a dictionary of the great s.f. themes.  Collected by  Isaac Asimov, Martin H. Greenberg, Charles G. Waugh.  Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1982.  UIUC Call Number: 823.08 SCI27.  Location: Undergraduate Library. 

Who goes there : a bibliographic dictionary : being a guide to the works of authors who have contributed to the literature of fantasy and science fiction, and who have published some or all of their work pseudonymously.  Rock, James A.  Bloomington, Ind. : James A. Rock & Co., 1979.  UIUC Call Number: Q. 016.8083 R59W.  Location: Main Stacks. 

Writers

Joseph Nesvadba

____________________________

 

Stanislaw Lem (1921 -2006):

The Official Stanislaw Lem Site

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute - Stanislaw Lem Bibliography

______________________________

Brothers Strugatskii

______________________________

Bulgarian Science Fiction and Lyuben Dilov

_____________________________

Karel Čapek

Karel Čapek Online

Film Reviews

Film Review Annual.  UIUC Call Number: 791.437 F4873.  Location: Undergrad Reference.
Covers 1982-Present. Includes reviews from major popular publications for films released in a specific year. Not intended to be comprehensive, it covers big releases.

Magill's Cinema Annual.  UIUC Call Number:  791.4375 M2722.   Location: Undergrad Reference.
Covers 1982-Present. Includes a list of reviews as well as information about the film.

New York Times Film Reviews.  UIUC Call Number: 791.43 N48.  Location:  Undergrad Reference and Main Reference.
Covers 1913-present. Good historical source for film reviews.

Subject Guide

Slavic Reference Service's picture
Slavic Reference Service
Contact:
International & Area Studies Library
319a Main Library
University of Illinois
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801
217-333-1349
Website