LibGuides: Ancient History: Databases

Classics Journal Gateway

For a comprehensive list of journals related to Classical Studies and Ancient History, visit the Classics Journal Gateway library guide. For an extensive list of open-access journal titles in Classical Studies and Ancient History, visit AWOL: The Ancient World Online.

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
(Academic Search Ultimate classic*) A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. *(best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches)
Alternate Access Link
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=asn
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.
Project Muse
Full-text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given. Searches can be conducted across the full text of all journals in the database.

Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina
Includes Latin texts from antiquity, late antiquity, medieval and modern Latin consisting mainly of scholia, texts of grammarians, and lexicon articles.
Brill's New Jacoby
Brill's New Jacoby provides a revised edition of the Greek texts of Felix Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker where relevant. It includes several new authors and many fragments of existing authors that were either unknown to Jacoby or excluded by him. It also gives commentaries in those cases where Jacoby failed to do so.
Library of Latin Texts
CLCLT is the world's leading database for Latin texts. It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas. The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas a Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.
Loeb Classical Library
A fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations. Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and, those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture. Users can browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica
A selection of texts from all five divisions of Monumenta Germaniae Historica (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae, Antiquitates).
Patrologia Latina
The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
[Must register first via the "register" link at top to access the database on and off campus. ]

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is a digital library of Greek literature currently including most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium. More than 3,800 authors and in excess of 12,000 full-text works are included. The database provides information about the names, dates, geographical origins, and descriptive epithets for each author, together with detailed bibliographical information about existing text editions for each work.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
The Thesaurus linguae Latinae is not only the largest Latin dictionary in the world, but also the first to cover all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. 31 academies, and scholarly societies from 23 countries support the work of the Bayerische Akademie (Thesaurusbüro München).

Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies
The Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies are multidisciplinary bibliographies of Europe, North Africa and the Near East (300-1500), founded in 1967 with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. The bibliographies comprise 365,000 articles, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records.
Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism
Part of Gale Literature Criticism Online. The database presents literary criticism on the works of classical and medieval philosophers, poets, playwrights, political leaders, scientists, mathematicians, and writers from other genres. Critical essays are selected from leading sources, including published journals, magazines, books, reviews, and scholarly papers. Criticism includes early views from the author's lifetime as well as later views, including extensive collections of contemporary analysis.
In Principio
A collection of approximately 1,000,000 incipits covering all known Latin texts, in manuscript form, from the start of Latin literature to around 1500 A.D. This includes ancient, patristic, medieval, and humanist literature and covers all genres: theology and liberal arts, history and poetry, medicine and liturgy, civil and canon law, exact and occult sciences, summons and sermons, glossaries and correspondences, cooking recipies and cursing formulas, large and small treatises, even isolated sentences. Updated semi-annually.
L'Année philologique
Online searchable database comprised of the print index begun in 1928 by Jules Marouzeau. Vols. 20- of the original print index are currently, with earler vols. to be digitized in the future. Indexes periodical articles as well as articles in collections and conference papers in classics and classical studies. Covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world.
Projekt Dyabola
DYABOLA is a navigable, source-oriented text and image registration system equipped with a semantic network, a syntax generator and a data-scrolling machine. Developed for the humanities and the arts, it contains electronic subject catalogs of publications on the history of art and the ancient world and includes the subject catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome, the Bibliography of Iberian Archaeology from the German Archaeological Institute in Madrid, and the Archaeology of Roman Provinces from RGK Frankfurt.
The University of Illinois has access to four catalogs in Projekt Dyabola: Archaeological Bibliography (enhanced version of Realkatalog) 1956, Attic Gravestones of the Late 5th and 4th Century B.C., Bibliography of European Prehistory, Monographs (RGK), 1992-2011, and Eurasienbibliographie des Deutschen Archaeologischen Instituts.

Gnomon
With over 864,000 entries, the Gnomon Bibliographic Database (GBD) is one of the most comprehensive database systems for specialised literature in the entire field of classical studies, including the subject-specific history of science. It lists monographs, edited volumes with the articles they contain, journal articles, reviews and specialised lexicons from the period in all relevant academic languages, which can be searched in detail with the help of a comprehensive, multilingual thesaurus (currently approx. 25,000 keywords). Monographs are also usually catalogued using the standard vocabulary of the Common Authority File (GND). The cataloguing of YouTube content and internet resources is currently a unique feature of the GBD. There has been intensive co-operation with the Bavarian State Library (Munich) and the university libraries of Augsburg, Eichstätt and Tübingen for some time.
TOCS-IN
TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15 percent).
ZENON
ZENON is the bibliographic database of the German Archaeological Institute (or DAI, for Deutsches Archäologisches Institut), which compiles some of the most important bibliographies on archaeology and in Classical studies more broadly. ZENON grows daily from the contributions of the DAI departments in Rome, Athens, Istanbul, and the head office in Berlin. It encompasses about 400,000 titles collected since 1956.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Includes over 13.6 million biographical sketches indexed, obtained from approximately 100-150 volumes and editions of 60-90 biographical dictionaries, including new titles as well as new editions of previously indexed sources.
Biography In Context
Provides access to the biographies of over 300,000 people. All time periods and nationalities are covered. Includes narrative biographies (2,000-3,000-word essays) from such titles as Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of American Biography, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Notable 20th Century Scientists, Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives, and Contemporary Black Biography, and more than 200,000 "thumbnail" biographies from titles such as Who's Who Among African Americans, Directory of American Scholars, Writer's Directory and Almanac of Famous People. Also includes biographical articles from over 280 journals or magazines such as People Weekly, Interview, Variety, Newsweek, Time, Jet, New Statesman, Entertainment Weekly, Twentieth Century Literature, etc.
Biography Index Retrospective
Alternate version: Biography Index Retrospective in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Covers biographical content about people from antiquity to 1983 appearing in periodicals indexed in other Wilson databases from 1946 to 1983. The database includes articles and book citations as well as interviews and profiles of history-makers. It covers asked-about public figures, including writers, artists, statesmen, sports figures, politicians, religious leaders, scientists, educators, military leaders, teachers, actors, business people, and more. Searchable by personal name and profession.
Alternate Access Link