Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Peer-reviewed Scientific Articles
Peer-reviewed academic journals provide authoritative information on the status of endangered species and conservation efforts, reflecting the current state of expert subject-area knowledge. The footnotes or end notes found in journal articles will often lead to other useful sources.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians, and many of the index records include abstracts. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more. Coverage is from 1935 & earlier to present.
Web of Science (All Databases Search)
Simultaneously search multiple databases that cover information on endangered and threatened species, including the Web of Science Core Collection, Biological Abstracts, CAB Abstracts, and Zoological Record.
Contains abstract and citation information for 18,000 titles, including peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences. Although Scopus covers more journals than Web of Science, it is limited to articles published after 1995
Finding Government Information and Grey Literature
Gateway to selected, authoritative science resources from US government agencies and departments. Search or browse selected science websites, or use the 'index' to view resources on selected topics.
National Technical Reports Library
Search for U.S. Government Technical Reports
Finding Newspaper Articles and Popular Media
Newspaper and magazines are not peer-reviewed prior to publication and are not authoritative sources of scientific information. However, they do present the latest information about policy changes and local and world events, and provide information about how issues relating to endangered species presented in the mass media.
Access World News
This wide-ranging news collection permits exploration of issues and events at the local, regional, national and international levels. Its source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Searches can be made using a map-based interface.
Lexis-Nexis Academic provides a wide-ranging search including newspapers, magazines, and transcripts of broadcast news.
Academic Search Ultimate
Most sources in Academic Search Complete are peer-reviewed articles, but with a mix of others source type as well. Includes monographs, news sources,reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study.
Finding Legal Analysis
These sources provide access to legal papers on environmental and other issues. Many legal sources are subscription-only.
ECOLEX is an information service on environmental law, operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP. Its purpose is to build capacity worldwide by providing the most comprehensive possible global source of information on environmental law .
Lexis Nexis Academic can search many sources, including legal cases and law reviews (to limit your search to law reviews, click on "advanced search")