Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Business Policy and Strategy

This guide has been created for Business Administration 449

PESTLE Databases

PESTLE Databases

The chart below displays databases with PESTLE information that BIS subscribes to annually. The chart provides the broad topics which are available within each database. To access the database desired, click on the database title to take you to the database. If you are off campus, you will be required to type your Illinois Net ID and password first for authentication.

Database Political Economic Social Technological Legal Environmental Company Reports Country Reports Industry Reports
Business Source Ultimate  
EIU ✔Structure
✔Stability
✔Internatonal Relations
✔Corruption
✔GDP
✔Growth
✔Inflation
✔Exchange rates
✔Forecast
✔Population
✔Demographics
✔Culture
  ✔Policy
✔Regulation
    ✔Country Data  
Emerging Markets Information Services ✔Outlooks
✔Corruption
✔GDP
✔Growth
✔Trade
✔Exchange Rates
✔Population
✔Demographics
✔Tourism
✔Policy
✔Regulation
Passport ✔Natural Resources
✔Trade
✔Culture
✔Consumer
✔Education
✔Legal services ✔Country data
PRS ✔Player to watch
✔Regime scenario
✔GDP
✔Investment/ Trade
✔Forecasts
✔Inflation rates
✔Geography
✔Labor conditions
  ✔Policies
✔Legal Framework
     
Statista ✔Political Environment ✔Economic Conditions
✔Trade & Investment
✔GDP
✔Consumer Behavior
✔Population
✔Human Development Index
✔Digital Infrastructure
✔FinTech
✔Telecommunication
✔Policy ✔Country data
World Bank's Doing Business 2020 Report ✔Role of government ✔International Trade     ✔Regulation     ✔Country data ✔Electricity

Business Source Ultimate

To use Business Source Ultimate more efficiently, use the drop down menus to select the fields for :

In Search Box, type the country name, then use Geographic Terms 

Scroll down, then under Publication Type, Select Country Report

See example in the screenshot below:

 

 

 

EIU

In search box, type country name, then click GO

 

 

The results will show a profile of the country. You may search through the tabs at the top of the profile or go to the REPORTS tab, and click 'Generate Country Reports'.

 

For Market Opportunities (outlook, demographics, social indicators) and Business Environment (taxes, policy, technology):

Under the BUSINESS tab, there are two options: Market Opportunities and Business Environment. 

For a cross country comparison:

Under the DATA tab, select 'All CountryData'

Under 'Data Tool', select 'Build Selection'. This is where you will select the counties, topics, and years. 

Step 1: Select 'All Market Indicators and Forecasts'

Step 2: Click the 'Add' button to select the countries 

Step 3: in the right- hand box, you will see that there are 296 series selected. If you do not want all of those selected, click 'Remove All' and then 'Add'

Step 4: Select the data range

Step 5: Click 'Save' and then 'View All'

To see a graph, you can click on 'View Chart'. Or to compare data between countries, click on the series name. Also, you can export data to an Excel file by clicking on 'Export'. 

 

Emerging Markets Information Service

Here's a Tip:

Go to the top of the page...click Region/Country Tab.  Click Unselect All, then type in the name of the country and click Save.  This will give you a better dashboard to look for information.  

 

Doing Business 2020 by World Bank

Doing Business report by World Bank provides data on the various areas of regulations for 190 countries.   The chart below presents the different metrics, especially for small and medium sized businesses wishing to locate in the largest cities of those economies.   It does not measure bribery or corruption, quality of labor force, or market size. 

To Search, Use drop down menu "Select an Economy Profile" on the right side of screen and click on country from alphabetized list:

 

 

Passport

Once in the database, the dashboard appears.  

Select drop down menu to left of the search box. 

Then select Statistics, type South Korea in the Search box, then click GO.  

 

On the next screen, you will see two tabs, one for Statistics, one for Analysis. 

The list of categories is longer than this screen.  You can click Full Data Set if you want to see the data under Consumers and Economies.   This is what the dataset will look like.  The default is the last 5 years, quarterly.   For this particular search, the years were changed to the last two years. 

 

To download the spreadsheet, go here to the middle and click the Down Arrow Image;

 

 

 

 

 

For a cross country comparison:

From the Passport homepage, scroll down to the 'Search Statistics' box. Click on "economies and Consumers' and select a topic. Choose a topic and then a category. 

 

Once the topics and categories are chosen, click GO.

Then, the data set will load with all the countries selected. To select particular countries, click the filter icon in the 'Geography' box. Click on the countries needed and then click 'Filter'. 

 

Next, you can change the year (located in the red box). Make sure you click 'Apply' after selecting the years. 

 

 

Then, if you want to add more topics to your data set, click on 'Modify Search'.

 

Click on 'Change Category', click on 'Economies and Consumers', and select your topic. After selecting the topic, click on 'Apply'.

 

Once you have your data, you can download your data set (all located in the red box shown below). 

 

City Data- trial for one semester!

Search for "cities" and press GO. Then choose the city under GEOGRAPHIES.

Statista

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. 

Type the name of the country in the search box and the press 'Statista Search"

Once you see the search results, scroll to 'Industry & Country Reports' on the left hand side of the screen. 

The results will show you all the country reports for the country you are searching for and you are able to download the report as a PDF.

DHL Global Connectedness Index

Developed by Steven Altman and Philip Bastian of NYU's Stern School of Business, the DHL Global Connectedness Index (CGI) aims to provide a comprehensive account of world's top 140 countries' connections in terms of cross-border trade, capital, information (telecommunications, publications, Internet), people (immigrants, students, tourism)  and stocks accumulated through 2020.  These countries encompass the world's GDP (99%) and population (95%).

The Index of rankings is contained in a lengthy 250 page report, chock-full of insights gathered from various data sources, such as the United Nations, IMF, World Economic Forum, Heritage Freedom Index, Euromonitor, Telogeography.com, and Henley & Partners Visa Restrictions Index.   Starting on page 86 are the country profiles, organized alphabetically.  

A sample country profile and how to examine it is supplied below. 

 

This index differs in that it does not have a political bias, unlike the Heritage Foundations' Index of Economic Freedom, published by a well-known US conservative think-tank (but considered an important barometer). The report utilizes many authoritative data sources. 

Note: the study was funded by a logistics company, DHL. 

 

 

 

 

 

Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) Confidence Index

FDI Confidence Index

Regular survey of CEOs, CFOs, and other top executives of Global 1000 companies, performed by AT Kearney, a global management consulting firm.  The report, which focuses on expectations regarding international investment, is available for free and can be downloaded as a PDF.

Below is a chart of the top ranked countries. 

 

IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook

Index of Economic Freedom

Index of Economic Freedom

The Index of Economic Freedom covers 10 specific freedoms such as trade freedom, business freedom, investment freedom, and property rights in 184 countries.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) Country Reports

IMF Country Reports

Reports and statistics about a country's economic conditions, developments and issues. Provides articles, news announcements, and analyses published by IMF staff.

KOF Index of Globalization

KOF Index of Globalization

Measures economic, social, and political aspects of globalization and provides an overall globalization index with sub-topics. Data are available on a yearly basis for 208 countries.