Determine if the company is public, private, or subsidiary.
Use the following databases to determine if the company is public, private, or subsidiary:
Company Research Chart
Company Research Databases
The chart below displays databases with company information that BIS subscribes to annually. The chart provides the broad topics which are available within each database. To access the database desired, click on the database title to take you to the database. If you are off campus, you will be required to type your Illinois Net ID and password first for authentication.
If you're having trouble accessing a database or getting an error code, try opening the link in an incognito or private window. For further assistance, contact bis@library.illinois.edu.
| Database | Company Information | Revenue/ Financials | Industry Codes | Products | Competitors | Investment Analysis | SWOT Analysis | Comparisons | News | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Source Ultimate | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||||
| Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||||
| Hoovers | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ||
| Data Axle/ Reference Solutions |
✔ |
|
✔ | ✔ | ||||||
| PrivCo | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||||
| ProQuest One Business | ✔ | ✔ | ||||||||
| Statista | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ |
Database Tutorials
This is a comprehensive database of academic journals, book/monograph abstracts, company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, magazines, market research reports, newspapers, product reviews, SWOT analysis, trade publications, and videos.
To search for a company, type in the company name in the search box. Then in Select a Field, click on Company Entity - CO.
Scroll down and you can search for SWOT Analysis under Publication Type.
Or search for NAICS/Industry Code, Product Name, and Company/Entity.
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)
How to use EMIS - Tutorial Video
This resource delivers hard-to-get information on more than 80 emerging markets. It aggregates and produces unique content including full-text news articles, financial statements, company information, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information, which are derived directly from more than 13,000 local and global publications.
To find information: first click the menu on the left of the screen.
Click on Markets.
Here you can search for industry and/or country profiles by category or by entering keywords.
Scroll down to see profiles organized by country and region.
To search for company information, go to the menu and click Companies.
Search for a company by typing in the search bar.
Note that content from Hoovers cannot be downloaded.
How to Build A Company List in Hoovers - Tutorial Video
Use this database to build a company list and search for company, industry and people profiles. Hoover's gives you access to best in class data made up of approximately 84 million private and public companies, including subsidiaries. Below is a screenshot of the company list builder and its criteria.
Search for a company in the search box or click on Build a Company List.
Data Axle (Reference Solutions)
How To Create Company Lists Using Data Axle - Tutorial Video
250 companies can be downloaded in one batch.
This resource connects users to over 60 million individual business records and over 298 million consumer records and 329 million historical business records. A variety of demographic factors can be used to create custom lists that can be downloaded directly to Excel or rendered within graphs, charts and heat maps. This database is ideal for entrepreneurial planning, market research, GIS mapping projects, job-seeking activities, gauging economic trends and more.
Click on US Businesses.
Do a quick search in the database:
You can also do an advanced search, which allows you to filter by keyword/SIC/NAICS, geography, financial data, ownership, etc.
"Business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies." Contains data on over 650,000 U.S. private companies, over 100,000 private market deals and venture capital fundings, and over 18,000 private market market investors. May search by keyword as well as by industry.
Access is free for University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign users, but you must create an account. Sign up with your university e-mail address from the main page.
Search by company name and press GO or conduct an Advanced Search by clicking on the magnifying glass on the left hand side (see red box below).
Database of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
Note that all users must create an account using their University of Illinois email address to access this database.
Statista offers over 1.5 million statistics and facts on more than 60,000 topics drawn from over 18,000 different sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. The data is aggregated by a dedicated team of researchers and statisticians who are experts in the 20 market and industry sectors covered. For each data set, extensive source information is provided. Data sets can conveniently be downloaded as an image, pdf, Excel file, or PowerPoint.
In the search bar, type in the company name.
When the results load, you can limit the results by clicking Dossiers, Statistics, and Infographics.
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
Click All Content Types. In the drop-down menu, click Companies.
Click Company Profile.
You are now searching company profiles.
Need More Help?
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail bis@library.illinois.edu.
