Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistics Sources in Print
These are our print holdings for statistics sources. Some of these
overlap with the online resources listed, though very often our print
holdings offer earlier data than what is offered online. For a more
detailed outline of historical statistics collections, click on the tab
above titled "Historical Statistics."
FAO statistical yearbook by
Call Number: 310 Un3s
Holdings: 1948-2009. Download .pdf of 2010 at UN site: http://unstats.un.org/unsd/syb/. General source that includes international and U.S. crop, livestock, machinery, and fertilizer statistics by country and region, as well as food and calorie consumption per capita.
World agricultural production by
Call Number: 338.1021 W893
Holdings: 1988-2009. Also available as UIUC Online Resource. Extensive statistics on crop yield and production by country and region.
FAO production yearbook by
Call Number: 338.1 P9451
Holdings: 1958-2003. See 338.1P945 for 1958-1976. See 338.1F219 for 2000-2003. Replaced 2004 with FAO Statistical Yearbook. Includes comprehensive statistics on international land use, population, crop production, livestock production and means of production by country and region.
FAO trade yearbook by
Call Number: 382 T6751
Holdings: 1958-2006. See 382 T675 for 1958-1976. See 338.1F219 for 2003-2006. Replaced 2007 by FAO Statistical Yearbook. Includes extensive information on imports, exports and trade by country and region.
Datasets and reports on international agriculture. A large majority of online, freely available data is offered by the United Nations. See below for online sources; print holdings are to the left.
Resources Available Online
Reports current news and information about the European agriculture industry. Coverage includes CAP prices, market analysis, European Union activities and issues; food safety, genetically modified foods, and rural development, among other topics.
Also available in print at call no. Q. 330.1094 Ag8
View a wide range of statistical data concerning European Union countries, provided by the European Comission.
FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization)
A list of multilingual statistical databases in agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, and food quality control provided by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
FAO World Programme for the Census of Agriculture
One of many of FAO's publications, the FAO World Programme assists several countries in producing their national agricultural census, and publishes the results online. Data is presented by country.
A comprehensive international statistical database provided by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. FAO provides access to 13 different statistical databases.
FAS (The Foreign Agricultural Service)
FAS produces hundreds of documents each year that chart and analyze production, consumption, trade flows, and market opportunities for about 100 agricultural products (e.g., Periodical reports; FAS Worldwide; Market-and commodity-specific reports etc.).
Passport Global Market Information Database
Passport is an online business information system providing business intelligence on countries, consumers, and industries. Passport provides access to statistics, market reports, company profiles, and information sources. The database covers 52 countries and more than 300 consumer products. Browse by subject, including agricultural topics such as "fresh food," "packaged food," and "soft drinks."
Other Resources from the Web
Provides comprehensive country profile including statists and enables both keyword and geographical area search
Agricultural situation in India by
Call Number: 338.105 AGRSI
Holdings: 1954-2009. Monthly statistical overview of weather, commodities, agricultural development, news and notes on agriculture in India.
Review of the agricultural situation in Europe by
Call Number: Q. 338.1 UN285R
Holdings: 1960-1994. Continues as Agricultural Review for Europe after 1985; see Q. 338.1 UN285R1. Statistical overview of production and trade for crop and livestock commodities by European country and region.
General International Statistics
Economic, political, or otherwise general international statistics ACES holds on its shelves.