Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistics Sources in Print
Census of Agriculture by
Call Number: 630.973 Un321c
Holdings: 1900-present. Call no. changes by edition; see "Historical" tab for more info.
These are our print holdings for statistics sources. Some of these overlap with the online resources listed, though very often our print holdings offer earlier data than what is offered online. For a more detailed outline of historical statistics collections, click on the tab above titled "Historical Statistics."
Illinois Statistics in Print
We also have a huge collection of earlier Illinois data. Check out the "Historical Statistics" tab for more information.
Data sources specifically concerning the United States. See the "International Statistics Tab" for a mroe global scope. Online sources are listed below; print holdings are to the left. Look to the "International Statistics" tab as well - many of the print holdings contain information for the U.S. as well as other nations.
USDA: United States Department of Agriculture
The Census of Agriculture
The Census is conducted every 5 years ('02 & '07 & '12), and provides a detailed report of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. Two companion publications are the Census of Horticulture Specialties, conducted every 10 years, and the new On-Farm Energy Production Survey focused on renewable energy.
The data offerings from the USDA are massive. These are the big-hitters - all of the publications listed are available online.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Conducts surveys and prepares reports on a wide range of U.S. agriculture-production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers. Historical data varies by commodity or data point, but some go back to the 1800s.
NASS Agricultural Prices
These publications contain pricing data for principal crops, livestock and livestock products; indexes of prices received by farmers, feed price ratios, indexes of prices paid by farmers, and parity prices. Online data goes back to the 1960s; for earlier data, see our print holdings (box in left-hand column).
NASS Farm Labor Data
These reports "contains regional and national data for self-employed, unpaid, and hired workers and wage rates for selected weeks; also hired worker numbers and wage rates for selected states." Data goes back to the 1930s.
NASS Charts & Maps
Visual sources, arranged by commodity.
NASS Reports & Publications
The USDA's NASS publishes daily, monthly and annual reports on pricing and production of various agricultural commodities. Search by date, commodity, or subject by using the navigation tool on the left side of the page.
Economics, Statistics, & Market Information System
A collaboration between the USDA and Cornell University, the EMIS provides over 2500 agricultural reports and datasets, both current and historical. Data is not comprehensive, but included are topics like Specialty Agriculture, Market News, and Weather.
World Agriculture Supply and Demand Estimates
A monthly report provided by the USDA World Agricultural Outlook Board providing the most current USDA forecasts of U.S. and world supply-use balances of major grains, soybeans and soybean products; and cotton; as well as U.S. supply and use of sugar and livestock products.
USDA Food & Nutrition Service Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Plan
The USDA Food & Nutrition Service provides data and reporting on the federal Food Stamp Program (now called the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Plan, or SNAP).
Agricultural Research Services - Datasets
These datasets range from chemistry and biochemistry to food science and nutrition.
Data.gov - Agriculture
A Data.gov community for those interested in food, agriculture, and rural data that address a number of pressing social, economic, and environmental concerns. Features data and statistics that can help inform investment and policy strategies related to agricultural production, global food security, poverty, nutrition and human health, natural resources and environmental issues; rural development, local and regional food systems; and many other issues.
State Statistics Online
NASS Statistics by State
Agricultural statistics by State provided by the National Agricultural Statistic Services (NASS) of the USDA.
Illinois Agricultural Statistics (1940-1990)
A digitized version of Illinois Agricultural Statistics 1940 through 1990, provided by the Funk ACES Library.
USDA-ERS State Fact Sheets
Facts include a summary of state-level income and employment figures. Additional information include state farm characteristics such as number of acres and number and types of farmers.
Other Resources from the Web
Designed, developed, and programmed by the Social Science Data Analysis Network. Provides data for states, counties, and metropolitan areas in charts, maps, and rankings, the data includes population by race, age structure, and family structure.
Farm Cost and Return Tool
This website is maintained by the Food and Agriculture Policy Institute (FAPRI). The website has a tool which is intended to assist beginning farmers and ranchers and utilizes data from the FAPRI baseline and the USDA. It allows users to construct a "farm" by entering the appropriate data and then returns a 5-year production and costs estimate.
This website is maintained by the Agricultural Electronic Bulletin Board (AgEBB) from the University of Missouri. This page contains numerous tables, charts, graphs, calculators, etc. related to different aspects of agriculture and farm marketing.
World Agricultural Outlook Board (WAOB) (USDA)
The WAOB maintains the monthly World Agricultural Supply and Demand Estimates (WASDE) report. This website also contains a weekly weather and crop bulletin.
Data from Other Government Agencies
Bureau of Labor Statistics
View a wide range of statistical data from United States Department of Labor
USA Trade Online
Provided by the Foreign Trade Division of the U.S. Census Bureau, USA Trade Online provides access to authoritative business, trade, and economic statistical information.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, provided by the U.S. Census Bureau and published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.