How to Find Articles
The databases listed to the right are some of the best resources for this class. You can search them to find articles in peer reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
The University of Illinois subscribes to many, many online databases and resources, which are indexed in Online Journals and Databases, linked below, and can be searched by title or subject.
- A-Z Subject GuideUse the Library's Database by Subject Guide for more precise searching than you'll get in Google Scholar.
Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowIdentifies articles across a broad range of subject areas including social sciences, humanities, education, engineering, and ethnic studies. Also provides access to popular magazines such as Time and Newsweek.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to journals, books, book chapters, proceedings, NGO reports and other gray literature.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowThis full text database indexes journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and reports.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in many disciplines including African American studies, anthropology, area studies, education, history, literature, political science, sociology, and many of the science fields. - Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Communication Source in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles.
- Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes 300 publications on film and television
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIdentifies articles in all areas of sociology including anthropology, criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, and urban studies.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIncludes journal articles, dissertations, and book and media reviews on U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the present.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowFeatures the full text of several key encyclopedias and selected articles from other reference works. Also includes bibliographies, time lines, maps, image collections, and key primary source documents
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Education Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Provides comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Indexing coverage begins June 1983; abstracts are included beginning spring 1994; full text of some journals is available beginning Jan. 1996. Indexing and abstracting coverage is identical to that of Education index and Education abstracts.
- ERIC - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: ERIC - EBSCO in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). ERIC is a Web-based digital library of free education-related sources of interest to educators, researchers, and the general public, and consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature. The collection is to be expanded to include full-texts of articles and other electronic resources such as audio and video materials.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Provides more than 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 650 journals.
- Hospitality & Tourism Index This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Hospitality & Tourism Index in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Bibliographic database providing access to scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Combines the records of three collections: Cornell University's former Hospitality database (previously unavailable for public use), Articles in hospitality and tourism, and the Lodging, restaurant & tourism index.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.
Subject Guide
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801